Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – April 30th‏


1991 – Norio Honaga wins the NJPW Top of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating Jushin Liger in the final

1992 – Jushin Liger wins the NJPW Top of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating El Samurai in the final

2006 – Giant Bernard wins the New Japan Cup, defeating Yuji Nagata in the tournament final

2010 – Dusty Rhodes is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 86% of the reader votes

2011 – Kurt Angle is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 80% of the reader votes


In 1993, the first AAA TripleManía was held in Mexico City

– Octagon, El Hijo Del Santo & Villano III defeat Fuerza Guerrera, Heavy Metal & Rambo
– Lizmark fought La Parka to a draw to retain the Mexican National Light Heavyweight Title. La Parka initially won the match 2-1, but the commission declared the third fall invalid
– Mascara Sagrada, Love Machine & Mascarita Sagrada defeat Jerry Estrada, Blue Panther & Jerrito Estrada
– Perro Aguayo defeats Mascara Ano 2000 in a Hair vs Mask Match, forcing Mascara Ano 2000 to unmask
– Cien Caras defeats Konnan in a Retirement Match

In 2000, WWF Backlash was held in Washington DC

– Edge & Christian defeat D-Generation X (Road Dogg & X-Pac) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Dean Malenko defeats Scotty 2 Hotty to retain the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– Crash Holly defeats Matt Hardy, Jeff Hardy, Hardcore Holly, Perry Saturn & Tazz in a 6-Way Match to retain the WWF Hardcore Title
– Eddie Guerrero defeats Essa Rios to retain the WWF European Title
– Chris Benoit defeats Chris Jericho by DQ to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Rock defeats Triple H with Shane McMahon as special guest referee to win the WWF Title

In 2006, WWE Backlash was a Raw-exclusive event, held in Lexington, Kentucky

– Trish Stratus defeats Mickie James by DQ (James retains the WWE Womens Title)
– Rob Van Dam defeats Shelton Benjamin to retain his Money In The Bank contract and win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Vince & Shane McMahon defeat Shawn Michaels & ‘God’ in a No Holds Barred Tornado Tag Team Match
– John Cena defeats Triple H & Edge in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1977 – Billy Graham defeats Bruno Sammartino to win the WWWF Title

1981 – Dory Funk Jr defeats Terry Funk (subbing for the injured Bruiser Brody) in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA International Heavyweight Title

1983 – Jos LeDuc defeats Dick Slater to win the NWA Television Title

1983 – Greg Valentine defeats Roddy Piper by referee stoppage to win the NWA United States Title. The match was stopped when Piper suffered a large cut over his left eye

1991 – Norio Honaga defeats Jushin Liger in the final of a tournament to win the vacant IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1998 – on Thunder, Chris Benoit defeats Booker T to win the WCW Television Title

2003 – Amazing Red defeats Kid Kash to win the TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to one-time TNA X-Division Champion Shawn Daivari (29)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Should WWE re-sign Ryback?

Loading ... Loading ...

Grade WWE's Payback

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...