This Day In Wrestling History – April 29th‏

Apr 29, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1999 – The WWF Smackdown pilot airs on UPN

2012 – Naomichi Marufuji & Mohammed Yone win the AJPW Global Tag League, defeating Takeshi Morishima & Katsuhiko Nakajima in the final


In 2001, WWF Backlash was held in Rosemont, Illinois

– on Sunday Night Heat, Jerry Lynn defeats Crash Holly to win the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– Rhyno defeats Raven to retain the WWF Hardcore Title
– William Regal defeats Chris Jericho in a Duchess of Queensbury Rules Match
– Chris Benoit defeats Kurt Angle in an Ultimate Submission Match
– Shane McMahon defeats The Big Show in a Last Man Standing Match
– Matt Hardy defeats Christian & Eddie Guerrero in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWF European Title
– Steve Austin & Triple H defeats The Brothers Of Destruction (Kane & The Undertaker) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles and retain the WWF Title (Austin) and WWF Intercontinental Title (HHH)

In 2007, WWE Backlash was the first regular PPV to feature all 3 brands since 2002. It was held in Atlanta, Georgia

– The Hardys (Matt & Jeff) defeat Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Melina defeats Mickie James to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Chris Benoit defeats MVP to retain the WWE United States Title
– Vince McMahon, Shane McMahon & Umaga defeat Bobby Lashley in a Handicap Match. Vince wins the ECW Title by pinning Lashley
– The Undertaker fought Batista to a no-contest in a Last Man Standing Match when neither could answer the 10-count (Taker retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– John Cena defeats Edge, Randy Orton & Shawn Michaels in a Fatal Four Way Match to retain the WWE Title

In 2012, WWE Extreme Rules was held in Rosemont, Illinois

– On the pre-show, Santino Marella defeats The Miz to retain the WWE United States Title
– Cody Rhodes defeats The Big Show in a Tables Match to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Sheamus defeats Daniel Bryan in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– CM Punk defeats Chris Jericho in a Chicago Street Fight to retain the WWE Title
– Layla defeats Nikki Bella (though actually pins her twin sister Brie) to win the WWE Divas Title
– John Cena defeats Brock Lesnar in an Extreme Rules Match

Title Changes

1963 – Buddy Rogers is awarded the first WWWF Championship reign

1981 – Sweet Ebony Diamond wins a tournament to win the vacant NWA Television Title

1996 – The Great Sasuke wins an 8-Man tournament to become the first holder of the J-Crown

1996 – Shinya Hashimoto defeats Nobuhiko Takada to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Steven Richards defeats Bubba Ray Dudley to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2008 – Suwama defeats Kensuke Sasaki to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title. Also, Ryuji Hijikata defeats Silver King to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2010 – Taru & Big Daddy Voodoo defeat Akebono & Ryota Hama to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWE developmental talent Seth Skyfire (34), current WWE Diva Aksana (31), one-time AJPW All Asia Tag Team Champion Masahito Kakihara (41), one-time AWA World Champion Don Leo Jonathan (82), 2-time GHC Openweight Champion Kishin Kiwibata (48) and 3-time WCW Tag Team Champion Paul Roma (53)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply