Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – April 19th‏


1986 – The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) win the inaugural Jim Crockett
Sr Memorial Tag Team Tournament, defeating Ronnie Garvin & Magnum TA in
the final

1997 – The AJPW Champion’s Carnival saw a 3-way tie for 1st place
between Toshiaki Kawada, Kenta Kobashi & Mitsuharu Misawa. In a
one-night round robin playoff, Kawada was declared the winner


In 1998, WCW Spring Stampede was held in Denver, Colorado

– Booker T defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WCW Television Title
– Chris Jericho defeats Prince Iaukea to retain the WCW Cruiserweight
– Hollywood Hogan & Kevin Nash defeat Roddy Piper & The Giant in a
Baseball Bat on a Pole Match
– Raven defeats Diamond Dallas Page in a Raven’s Rules Match to win
the WCW United States Title
– Randy Savage defeats Sting in a No-DQ Match to win the WCW World

In 2009, TNA Lockdown was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As
with all Lockdown events of this time, all matches were held within a

– Suicide defeats Jay Lethal, Consequences Creed, Sheik Abdul Bashir &
Kiyoshi in an Xscape Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– ODB defeats Daffney, Madison Rayne & Sojourner Bolt to become Queen
of the Cage
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley) defeat The
LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) & No Limit (Naito & Yujiro) to retain the
IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Angelina Love defeats Awesome Kong & Taylor Wilde in a 3-Way Match
to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat Beer Money Inc (James
Storm & Robert Roode) in a Street Fight to retain the IWGP Tag Team
Titles and win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Jeff Jarrett, Samoa Joe, AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels defeat Kurt
Angle, Scott Steiner, Booker T & Kevin Nash in a Lethal Lockdown Matc
– Mick Foley defeats Sting to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1957 – Don Leo Jonathan defeats Pepper Gomez to win the vacant Texas
Brass Knuckles Title

1980 – Ric Flair defeats Jimmy Snuka to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United
States Title

1987 – Bubba Rogers defeats One Man Gang to win the UWF Heavyweight

1999 – on Nitro, Psychosis defeats Rey Misterio Jr to win the WCW
Cruiserweight Title

2002 – on Smackdown, the WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt
pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to Goldust, to Raven and back to Bubba Ray

2004 – on Raw, Chris Benoit & Edge defeat Evolution (Ric Flair &
Batista) to win the World Tag Team Titles

2010 – on Impact, Rob Van Dam defeats AJ Styles to win the TNA World

2011 – on Smackdown, Kane & The Big Show defeat The Corre (Heath Slater
& Justin Gabriel) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to NWA legend Ox Baker (79), British indy star
Jonny Storm (36), former WSU Champion Nikki Roxx (34),
2-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion El Samurai (47) and
former WWE Diva Maxine (27)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Best match at Extreme Rules?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Grade WWE's Extreme Rules

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...