This Day In Wrestling History – April 13th‏

Apr 13, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2011 – Yuji Nagata wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Seiya Sanada in the final


In 1997, ECW held it’s first ever PPV Barely Legal in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– The Eliminators (Perry Saturn & John Kronus) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Shane Douglas defeats Pitbull #2 to retain the ECW Television Title
– Taz defeats Sabu
– Terry Funk defeats The Sandman & Stevie Richards in a 3-Way Dance
– Terry Funk defeats Raven to win the ECW World Title

In 2002, All Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV event in Tokyo, Japan

– Kaz Hayashi, Jimmy Yang & Hi69 defeat Kazushi Miyamoto, Gran Naniwa & Ryuji Hijikata
– Kendo Kashin defeats Masa Fuchi to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Steve Williams, Mike Rotunda & Yoji Anjoh defeat Mike Barton, Jim Steele & The Cedman
– Arashi & Nobutaka Araya defeat Mitsuya Nagai & Shigeo Okumura to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Taiyo Kea
– Genichiro Tenryu defeats Keiji Mutoh to win the vacant AJPW Triple Crown Title

Also in 2002, WWA The Eruption was held in Melbourne, Australia

– AJ Styles defeats Nova to reach the final of the WWA Cruiserweight Title Tournament
– Jerry Lynn defeats Chuck E Chaos to reach the final of the WWA Cruiserweight Title Tournament
– AJ Styles defeats Jerry Lynn to win the vacant WWA International Cruiserweight Title
– Sabu defeats Devon Storm in a Cage Match
– Scott Steiner defeats Nathan Jones with Sid Vicious as special guest enforcer to win the WWA Heavyweight Title

In 2007, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Osaka, Japan

– Manabu Nakanishi defeats Orlando Jordan
– Jado & Gedo defeat Masaaki Mochizuki & Yasushi Kanda to retain the Dragon Gate International Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Minoru defeats Ryusuke Taguchi to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Giant Bernard & Travis Tomko defeat Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Shiro Koshinaka to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Yuji Nagata defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2008, TNA Lockdown was held in Lowell, Massachusetts. As with all Lockdown events during this time, all matches were held in a cage

– Jay Lethal defeats Johnny Devine, Shark Boy, Sonjay Dutt, Curry Man & Consequences Creed in an Xscape Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– BG James defeats Kip James
– Christian Cage, Kevin Nash, Rhino, Sting & Matt Morgan defeat Tomko, AJ Styles, Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) & James Storm in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– Samoa Joe defeats Kurt Angle in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1931 – Ed ‘Strangler’ Lewis defeats Ed Don George to win the World Heavyweight Title

1977 – Bruiser Brody defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1983 – Ted DiBiase & Mr Olympia defeat Tiger Conway Jr & Mr Wrestling II to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1992 – Lauren Davenport defeats Miss Texas to win the USWA Womens Title

1994 – Diesel defeats Razor Ramon to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1995 – Bobby Blaze defeats Killer Kyle to win the SMW Television Title. He would be the last champion before the promotion closed, though the title had been abandoned months before

1996 – Jesse James Armstrong wins a Battle Royal to become the first USWA Television Champion

2000 – Taz defeats Mike Awesome to win the ECW World Title

2002 – The WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to William Regal, to Spike Dudley, to Goldust and back to Bubba


Happy birthday to indy regulars Josh Raymond (29) and SeXXXy Eddy (35), Zero-1 regular Daichi Hashimoto (21), one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Mo (49) and current TNA wrestler Christian York (36)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famer Antonino Rocca (86), one-time WWWF World Champion Stan Stasiak (76) and 3-time Mexican Light Heavyweight Champion Dr Wagner (79)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply