This Day In Wrestling History – April 9th‏

Apr 9, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2008 – Suwama wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi in the final

Title Changes

1917 – Earl Caddock defeats Joe Stecher to win the World Heavyweight Title

1957 – Mike Clancy defeats Fred Blassie to win the vacant NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1978 – Ric Flair defeats Mr Wrestling to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1990 – Kenta Kobashi & Tiger Mask II defeat Doug Furnas & Dan Kroffat to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1993 – Brian Lee defeats Bobby Eaton to win the SMW Television Title

1994 – Debbie Combs is awarded the vacant USWA Womens Title

2001 – Kazuyuji Fujita defeats Scott Norton to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WWE developmental talent Hade Vansen (30) and Dragon Gate regular Super Shisa (43)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply