This Day In Wrestling History – April 8th‏

Apr 8, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2012 – Hirooki Goto wins the New Japan Cup, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi in the final


In 1990, the final AWA SuperClash was held in Saint Paul, Minnesota

– Baron Von Raschke defeats Colonel DeBeers
– Tully Blanchard defeats Tommy Jammer
– Larry Zbyszko defeats Masa Saito to win the AWA World Title
– The Trooper & Paul Diamond defeat The Destruction Crew (Mike Enos & Wayne Bloom) in a Cage Match

Title Changes

1965 – Gorilla Monsoon & Bill Watts defeat Gene Kiniski & Waldo von Erich to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1968 – Jack Donovan & Ron Reed defeat Chati Yokouchi & Chuck Karbo to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1988 – John Tatum & Jack Victory defeat Steve & Shaun Simpson to win the WCCW Texas Tag Team Titles

1990 – Larry Zbyszko defeats Mr Saito to win the AWA World Title

1995 – Buddy Landel defeats Bobby Blaze to win the SMW Heavyweight Title

1995 – The Public Enemy (Johnny Grunge & Rocco Rock) defeat Chris Benoit & Dean Malenko to win the ECW Tag Team Titles. Also, Eddy Guerrero defeats 2 Cold Scorpio to win the ECW Television Title

2002 – on Raw, Spike Dudley defeats William Regal to win the WWF European Title

2012 – Colt Cabana defeats Adam Pearce to win the NWA World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to Japanese hardcore regular Ryuji Ito (37), former Chikara regular Robbie Ellis (70) and 4-time GHC Tag Team Champion Akitoshi Saito (48)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply