This Day In Wrestling History – April 7th‏

Apr 7, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1978 – Abdullah The Butcher wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival


In 1986, WWF Wrestlemania 2 was the first one to air on the national PPV market. It was an unusual event in that it was held in 3 separate locations simultaneously, with 4 matches taking place at each venue, the most important of which follow:

In Uniondale, New York:

– Randy Savage defeats George Steele to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Mr T defeats Roddy Piper by DQ in a Boxing Match

In Rosemont, Illinois:

– The Fabulous Moolah defeats Velvet McIntyre to retain the WWF Womens Title
– The British Bulldogs (Davey Boy Smith & The Dynamite Kid) defeat The Dream Team (Brutus Beefcake & Greg Valentine) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

In Los Angeles, California:

– Ricky Steamboat defeats Hercules Hernandez
– Hulk Hogan defeats King Kong Bundy in a Cage Match to retain the WWF Title

Title Changes

1959 – Bull Curry defeats Joe Christie to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1978 – The Von Erichs (David & Kevin) defeat Tim Brooks & Leroy Brown to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1989 – Eric Embry defeats Gary Young to win the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title

1995 – The Dynamic Duo (Al Snow & Unabomb) defeat The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) to win the SMW Tag Team Titles

1997 – Toshie Uematsu defeats Malia Hosaka in the final of a tournament to win the WCW Womens Cruiserweight Title

1997 – on Nitro, Ultimo Dragon defeats Prince Iaukea to win the WCW Television Title

2001 – Rocky Reynolds defeats Vince Kaplack to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2002 – Yoshinari Ogawa defeats Jun Akiyama to win the GHC Heavyweight Title. Also, Makoto Hashi defeats Naomichi Marufuji to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title, though he would relinquish the title the following day, as he felt it unfair to win by referee stoppage (Marufuji injured his knee in the match)

2002 – The 24/7 Rule on the WWF Hardcore Title sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to William Regal, to Raven, to Goldust and back to Bubba Ray. Each counts as separate title reign

2002 – Nathan Jones defeats Jeff Jarrett, Brian Christopher & Scott Steiner to win the WWA Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WWE wrestler Droz (44), TNA regular Sonjay Dutt (31), one-time WWC Universal Champion Steve ‘The Minotaur’ DiSalvo (64), former World Tag Team Champion Rosey (43) and 2-time WWE Tag Team Champion David Otunga (33)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply