This Day In Wrestling History – March 31st‏

Mar 31, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1977 – Seiji Sakaguchi wins the NJPW World League, defeating Masked Superstar in the final


In 1985, the first ever WWF WrestleMania was held in New York City

– Tito Santana defeats The Executioner in the first ever Wrestlemania match
– Junkyard Dogg defeats Greg Valentine by countout (Valentine retains the WWF Intercontinental Title)
– Nikolai Volkoff & The Iron Sheik defeat The US Express (Mike Rotundo & Barry Windham) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Andre The Giant defeats Big John Studd in a Bodyslam Challenge
– Wendi Richter defeats Leilani Kai to win the WWF Womens Title
– Hulk Hogan & Mr T defeat Roddy Piper & Paul Orndorff with Muhammad Ali & Pat Patterson as special guest referees

In 1996, WWF WrestleMania XII was held in Anaheim, California

– on the Free For All show, The Bodydonnas (Skip & Zip) defeat The Godwinns (Henry & Phineas) in the final of a tournament to win the vacant WWF Tag Team Titles
– The Undertaker defeats Diesel
– Roddy Piper defeats Goldust in a Hollywood Backlot Brawl
– Shawn Michaels defeats Bret Hart in an Iron Man Match to win the WWF Title (the match went to overtime with no man scoring a pinfall in the hour allowed)

In 2007, the WWE Hall Of Fame Ceremony was held in Detroit, Michigan. The Class of 2007 are:

– Dusty Rhodes
– ‘Mr Perfect’ Curt Hennig
– Jerry Lawler
– Afa & Sika, The Wild Samoans
– Nick Bockwinkel
– Mr Fuji
– The Sheik
– Jim Ross

In 2012, ROH Showdown in the Sun was held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. This was the second day of the two-day event and had a lunchtime start to avoid clashing with WWE’s Hall of Fame ceremony

– The Young Bucks (Nick & Matt Jackson) defeat The All Night Express (Rhett Titus & Kenny King) in a Street Fight
– The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) defeat Wrestling’s Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin) to retain the ROH Tag Team Titles
– Roderick Strong defeats Jay Lethal to win the ROH Television Title
– Davey Richards defeats Michael Elgin to retain the ROH World Title

Also in 2012, the WWE Hall of Fame Ceremony was held in Miami, Florida. Ric Flair became the first person to be inducted twice. The class of 2012 are:

– Edge
– Mil Mascaras
– Mike Tyson
– Ron Simmons
– Yokozuna
– The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Barry Windham, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & JJ Dillon)

Title Changes

1978 – Tim Brooks & Leroy Brown defeat Jose Lothario & Al Madril to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1989 – Sting defeats Mike Rotunda to win the NWA Television Title

1994 – The Quebecers defeat Men on a Mission to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2000 – The Artist defeats Billy Kidman to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2003 – on Raw, Kane & Rob Van Dam defeat Chief Morley & Lance Storm & The Dudley Boyz in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the World Tag Team Titles

2004 – Kazarian defeats Amazing Red to win the vacant TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to female indy star Allison Danger (36) and one-time NWA World Champion Naoya Ogawa (45)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply