This Day In Wrestling History – March 28th‏

Mar 28, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2003 – Satoshi Kojima wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Arashi in the final

2010 – Gorilla Monsoon is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 90% of the reader votes


In 1999, WWF Wrestlemania XV was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– Hardcore Holly defeats Billy Gunn & Al Snow in a Triple Threat Match to win the WWF Hardcore Title
– Owen Hart & Jeff Jarrett defeat Test & D’Lo Brown to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Butterbean defeats Bart Gunn in a Brawl For All Match
– Road Dogg defeats Ken Shamrock, Goldush & Val Venis in a Four Corners Elimination Match to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Sable defeats Tori to retain the WWF Womens Title
– Shane McMahon defeats X-Pac to retain the WWF European Title
– The Undertaker defeats The Big Boss Man in a Hell In A Cell Match. This was the match where Taker infamously hanged The Boss Man
– Steve Austin defeats The Rock in a No-DQ Match to win the WWF Title

In 2004, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Jushin Liger defeats Masayuki Naruse to retain the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title
– Heat defeats Koji Kanemoto to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Kazunari Murakami to retain the U-30 Title
– Yoshihiro Takayama & Minoru Suzuki defeat Manabu Nakanishi & Genichiro Tenryu to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Yuji Nagata defeats Masahiro Chono
– Bob Sapp defeats Kensuke Sasaki to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2010, WWE Wrestlemania XXVI was held in Glendale, Arizona

– ShoMiz (The Big Show & The Miz) defeat John Morrison & R-Truth to retain the WWE Unified Tag Team Titles
– Jack Swagger wins the Money In The Bank Ladder Match
– Bret Hart defeats Vince McMahon in a No Holds Barred Match with Bruce Hart as special guest referee
– Chris Jericho defeats Edge to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– John Cena defeats Batista to win the WWE Title
– The Undertaker defeats Shawn Michaels to go 18-0 at Wrestlemania and force Michaels to retire

Title Changes

1983 – King Parsons defeats Tola Yatsu to win the WCCW Television Title

1984 – Tully Blanchard defeats Mark Youngblood to win the NWA Television Title

2000 – on Smackdown, Stephanie McMahon defeats Jacqueline to win the WWF Womens Title


Happy birthday to one-time USWA Television Champion Brickhouse Brown (55), former WWE wrestler Rory McAllister (37), one-time AAA Tag Team Champion Ultimo Gladiator (35), former British Heavyweight Champion Tony St Clair (66) and former WWF and NWA wrestler The Warlord (51)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF/E Intercontinental Champions Eddie ‘Umaga’ Fatu (40) and ‘Mr Perfect’ Curt Hennig (55)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply