This Day In Wrestling History – March 1st‏

Mar 1, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1998 – Perro Aguayo wins the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament, defeating Latin Lover, Cibernetico & Octagon

2007 – The GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame is opened. Hulk Hogan is the first inductee

2008 – Trish Stratus is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 82% of the reader votes

2009 – Harley Race is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 87% of the reader votes

2011 – Kevin Nash is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 73% of the reader votes

2011 – Johnny Curtis wins WWE NXT Season 4

2012 – Vader is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 88% of the reader votes


In 1986, the first WWF Slammy Awards Show airs on MTV. All awards referred to the song ‘Land of 1000 Dances’ from The Wrestling Album which had been released earlier that year

– Roddy Piper wins Best Personality
– Mona Flambe (Cyndi Lauper) wins Best Producer
– Gene Okerlund wins Best Commentator
– Junkyard Dogg wins Best Single Performer
– Nikolai Volkoff wins Most Ignominious (he was the only nominee)

In 1998, the first ECW Living Dangerously was held in Asbury Park, New Jersey

– New Jack & Spike Dudley defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) and The Hardcore Chair Swingin’ Freaks (Axl Rotten & Balls Mahoney) in a 3-Way Dance
– Tommy Dreamer defeats Justin Credible
– Bam Bam Bigelow defeats Taz to win the ECW Television Title. During the match, Bigelow drove Taz through the ring
– Sabu defeats The Sandman in a Dueling Canes Match
– Al Snow & Lance Storm defeats Shane Douglas & Chris Candido

In 2008, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 4 was held in Tokyo, Japan

– Silver King defeats Katsuhiko Nakajima to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Keiji Mutoh & Hiroshi Tanahashi defeat Toshiaki Kawada & Taiyo Kea
– Dory Funk Jr & Osamu Nishimura defeat Genichiro Tenryu & Masanobu Fuchi
– Kensuke Sasaki defeats Satoshi Kojima to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1977 – Dick Murdoch defeats The Great Zimm to win the TSW North American Title

1992 – Big, Bad & Dangerous (Bam Bam Bigelow & Vader) defeat Hiroshi Hase & Keiji Mutoh to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1993 – Jamie Dundee defeats Danny Davis to become the first USWA Middleweight Champion

1993 – Bobby Eaton defeats Tim Horner to win the SMW Television Title

2003 – Kenta Kobashi defeats Mitsuharu Misawa to win the GHC Heavyweight Title

2005 – on Smackdown, Orlando Jordan defeats John Cena to win the WWE United States Title

2009 – Jun Akiyama defeats Kensuke Sasaki to win the GHC Heavyweight Title. Also, KENTA defeats Katsuhiko Nakajima to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to one-time ROH World Champion Davey Richards (30), one-time WCW Tag Team Champion Scotty Riggs (42), former WWF/E and WCW Triple Crown Champion Booker T (48), current NXT Champion Big E Langston (27), one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Adnan Al-Kaissie (Billy White Wolf) (74) and 6-time CMLL Tag Team Champion Ultimo Guerrero (41)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply