This Day In Wrestling History – February 20th‏

Feb 20, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1989, NWA Chi-Town Rumble was held in Chicago, Illinois

– The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton, Stan Lane & Jim Cornette) defeat The Original Midnight Express (Jack Victory, Randy Rose & Paul E Dangerously) in a Loser Leaves NWA Match
– Mike Rotunda defeats Rick Steiner to win the NWA Television Title
– Lex Luger defeats Barry Windham to win the NWA United States Title
– The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) defeat The Varsity Club (Steve Williams & Kevin Sullivan) to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– Ricky Steamboat defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

In 1994, WCW SuperBrawl IV was held in Albany, Georgia

– Lord Steven Regal defeats Arn Anderson to retain the WCW Television Title
– Cactus Jack & Maxx Payne defeat The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) by DQ (The Nastys retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles)
– Sting, Brian Pillman & Dustin Rhodes defeat Steve Austin, Rick Rude & Paul Orndorff in a Thundercage Match
– Ric Flair defeats Big Van Vader in a Thundercage Match with The Boss as special guest referee to retain the WCW World Title

In 2000, WCW SuperBrawl 2000 was held in San Francisco, California. This was the tenth and penultimate SuperBrawl event and saw a surprise appearance from James Brown

– The Artist Formerly Known As Prince Iaukea defeats Lash LeRoux to win the vacant WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Brian Knobbs defeats Bam Bam Bigelow to win the WCW Hardcore Title
– The Mamalukes (Big Vito & Johnny The Bull) defeat David Flair & Crowbar in a Sicilian Stretcher Match to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Ric Flair defeats Terry Funk in a Texas Death Match
– Hulk Hogan defeats The Total Package
– Sid Vicious defeats Scott Hall & Jeff Jarrett in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2005, WWE No Way Out was a Smackdown-exclusive event, held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

– Eddie Guerrero & Rey Mysterio defeat The Basham Brothers (Doug & Danny) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Chavo Guerrero defeats Paul London, Funaki, Spike Dudley, Shannon Moore & Akio in a Cruiserweight Open Elimination Match to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– John Cena defeats Kurt Angle
– JBL defeats The Big Show in a Barbed Wire Cage Match to retain the WWE Title

Also in 2005, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Minoru Tanaka, Jado, Gedo & James Gibson defeat Koji Kanemoto, Wataru Inoue, Katsushi Takemura & Taiji Ishimori
– Tiger Mask IV defeats Jushin Liger to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Osamu Nishimura defeats Riki Choshu by DQ
– Masahiro Chono, Manabu Nakanishi, Minoru Suzuki & Mitsuya Nagai defeat Yuji Nagata, Kensuke Sasaki, Shinsuke Nakamura & Hiroshi Tanahashi in an Elimination Match
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Hiroyoshi Tenzan by KO to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title and win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2011, WWE Elimination Chamber (still known as No Way Out in Germany) was held in Oakland, California

– Edge defeats Kane, Rey Mysterio, Drew McIntyre, The Big Show & Wade Barrett in an Elimination Chamber Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– The Corre (Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel) defeat Santino Marella & Vladimir Kozlov to win the WWE Tag Team Titles
– The Miz defeats Jerry Lawler to retain the WWE Title
– John Cena defeats CM Punk, John Morrison, King Sheamus, Randy Orton & R-Truth in an Elimination Chamber Match

Also in 2011, NJPW The New Beginning was held in Sendai, Japan

– Tiger Mask defeats Tomohiro Ishii in a Mask vs Mask Match
– Giant Bernard & Karl Anderson defeat Manabu Nakanishi & Strong Man to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Prince Devitt defeats TAKA Michinoku to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– MVP & Taichi defeat Togi Makabe & Tomoaki Honma
– Hirooki Goto defeats Tetsuya Naito
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Satoshi Kojima to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1959 – Ivan the Terrible defeats Angelo Savoldi to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1964 – Toyonobori & Michiaki Yoshimura defeat Prince Curtis Iaukea & Don Manoukian to win the vacant JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1973 – The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) defeat Dennis Stamp & Bull Bullinski to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1978 – Bob Backlund defeats Billy Graham to win the WWWF Title

1984 – Kelly Kiniski defeats King Parsons to win the WCCW Television Title

1986 – Incumbent WCCW American Heavyweight Champion Rick Rude is pronounced the first WCCW World Heavyweight Champion as the promotion secedes from the NWA

1996 – The Holy Demon Army (Akira Taue & Toshiaki Kawada) defeat Gary Albright & Stan Hansen to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2000 – Vader & Steve Williams defeat Jun Akiyama & Kenta Kobashi to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2005 – Satoshi Kojima defeats Hiroyoshi Tenzan to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

2006 – on Raw, Shelton Benjamin defeats Ric Flair to win the WWE Intercontinental Title


Happy birthday to current TNA Knockouts Champion Gail Kim (36), New Japan founder Antonio Inoki (70), 2-time AAA Reina de Reinas Champion Esther Moreno (44) and 4-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Champion Gedo (44)

Also, today would have been the birthday of the first WWWF Champion Buddy Rogers (92)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply