This Day In Wrestling History – January 25th‏

Jan 25, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1995, WCW Clash of the Champions XXX was held in Las Vegas, Nevada

– Arn Anderson defeats Johnny B Badd to retain the WCW Television Title
– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat Stars n Stripes (The Patriot & Marcus Alexander Bagwell) to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Sting defeats Avalanche with The Guardian Angel as special guest referee
– Hulk Hogan & Randy Savage defeat Kevin Sullivan & The Butcher

In 1997, the first WCW Souled Out, held in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, was branded as an nWo event. All matches were nWo vs WCW with nWo referee Nick Patrick officiating every match

– Big Bubba Rogers defeats Hugh Morrus in a Mexican Death Match
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles. The titles would be returned to The Outsiders 2 days later as an unofficial referee made the count
– Eddy Guerrero defeats Syxx in a Ladder Match to retain the WCW United States Title
– Hollywood Hogan fought The Giant to a no-contest due to excessive outside interference

In 2004, WWE Royal Rumble was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– Evolution (Ric Flair & Batista) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) in a Tables Match to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Rey Mysterio defeats Jamie Noble to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Brock Lesnar defeats Hardcore Holly to retain the WWE Title
– Triple H fought Shawn Michaels to a draw in a Last Man Standing Match when neither man could answer the 10-count (Triple H retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– Chris Benoit wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating The Big Show. Benoit broke Bob Backlund’s record of the longest time in a Rumble match

In 2009, WWE Royal Rumble was held in Detroit, Michigan

– Jack Swagger defeats Matt Hardy to retain the ECW Title
– Melina defeats Beth Phoenix to win the WWE Womens Title
– John Cena defeats JBL to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Edge defeats Jeff Hardy in a No-DQ Match to win the WWE Title
– Randy Orton wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating Triple H

Title Changes

1972 – Fritz von Erich & Dean Ho defeat Thunderbolt Patterson & Johnny Valentine to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1979 – The Assassin & The Angel 1st defeat Dusty Rhodes & The Spoiler to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1989 – Mighty Inoue defeats Joe Malenko to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

1998 – The Holy Demon Army (Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue) defeat Johnny Ace & Kenta Kobashi to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Raw, Jeff Jarrett & Owen Hart defeat The Big Boss Man & Ken Shamrock to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2000 – on Thunder, Kevin Nash awards himself the vacant WCW World Title, but loses it later in the show to Sid Vicious


Happy birthday to the longest reigning WWF Intercontinental Champion The Honky Tonk Man (60), former WWE developmental talent Ace Steel (40), 4-time ROH Tag Team Champion BJ Whitmer (35), former WCW and ECW valet Stephanie ‘Gorgeous George’ Bellars (37), 2-time WWE Divas and Womens Champion Michelle McCool (33) and former Chikara Young Lions Cup winner Player Dos (24)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply