This Day In Wrestling History – January 23rd‏

Jan 23, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1996, WCW Clash of the Champions XXXII was held in Las Vegas, Nevada

– Brian Pillman defeats Eddy Guerrero
– Sting & Lex Luger defeat The Blue Bloods (Robert Eaton & Steven Regal) to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Ric Flair & The Giant defeat Hulk Hogan & Randy Savage

In 2000, WWF Royal Rumble was held in New York City. Interestingly, this event aired on terrestrial (free) TV in the UK as Channel 4 had acquired the programming rights from Sky earlier in the year

– Tazz defeats Kurt Angle (Angle’s first televised loss)
– The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) in an Elimination Tables Match
– Chris Jericho defeats Chyna & Hardcore Holly to become the undisputed WWF Intercontinental Champion (Jericho & Chyna were co-champions going into the event)
– The New Age Outlaws (Road Dogg & Billy Gunn) defeat The Acolytes (Faarooq & Bradshaw) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Triple H defeats Cactus Jack in a Street Fight to retain the WWF Title
– The Rock wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating The Big Show

Title Changes

1970 – Umanosuke Ueda defeats Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1978 – Tatsumi Fujinami defeats Carlos Jose Estrada to win the WWF Junior Heavyweight Title

1984 – Hulk Hogan defeats The Iron Sheik to win his first WWF Title. The reign would last over 4 years

1987 – Terry Taylor & Jim Duggan vacate the UWF Tag Team Titles after Duggan loses a Loser-Leaves-UWF Match to One Man Gang

1995 – on Raw, The Smoking Gunns defeat The 123 Kid & Bob Holly to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1998 – Mr Niebla & Shocker defeat Emilio Charles Jr & Dr Wagner Jr to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2001 – on Thunder, Meng awards the WCW Hardcore Title to The Barbarian

2004 – LA Park & Shocker defeat Los Guerreros del Infierno (Rey Bucanero & Ultimo Guerrero) to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2005 – Scorpio & Doug Williams defeat Mitsuharu Misawa & Yoshinari Ogawa to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2011 – Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi) defeat Golden Lovers (Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi) to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time ROH World Champion Nigel McGuinness (37), current TNA developmental talent Alex Silva (23) and former WWF and NWA Womens Champion Leilani Kai (53)

Also, today would have been the birthday of All Japan founder Shohei ‘Giant’ Baba (75)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply