This Day In Wrestling History – January 19th

Jan 19, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1991, WWF Royal Rumble was held in Miami, Florida. This Rumble match featured the first no-show, as 18th entrant Randy Savage had (kayfabe) left the arena. Also, Rick Martel set the now-beaten record for longest time in a Rumble match, at 52:17

– Sgt Slaughter defeats The Ultimate Warrior to win the WWF Title
– Ted DiBiase & Virgil defeat Dusty & Dustin Rhodes
– Hulk Hogan wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating Earthquake

In 1992, WWF Royal Rumble was held in Albany, New York. Ric Flair beat Rick Martel’s previous Rumble record with his stay of 59:26

– Roddy Piper defeats The Mountie to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Natural Disasters (Earthquake & Typhoon) defeat The Legion of Doom (Hawk & Animal) by countout (LOD retain the WWF Tag Team Titles)
– Ric Flair wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating Sid Justice, to win the vacant WWF Title

In 1997, WWF Royal Rumble was held in San Antonio, Texas. Steve Austin equaled Hulk Hogan’s record of 10 eliminations at this event, though Kane would go on to beat it in 2001

– Hunter Hearst Helmsley defeats Goldust to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Vader defeats The Undertaker
– Steve Austin wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating Bret Hart (Austin had been eliminated earlier, but it was not seen by a referee, so he came back into the match)
– Shawn Michaels defeats Sycho Sid to win the WWF Title

In 2003, WWE Royal Rumble was the first since the Brand Extension, and so would feature 15 wrestlers from each brand. It was held in Boston, Massachusetts

– The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat William Regal & Lance Storm to win the World Tag Team Titles
– Scott Steiner defeats Triple H by DQ (HHH retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– Kurt Angle defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WWE Title
– Brock Lesnar wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating The Undertaker

Title Changes

1991 – Jumbo Tsuruta defeats Stan Hansen to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2000 – on Nitro, The Mamalukes defeat David Flair & Crowbar to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

2009 – on Raw, CM Punk defeats William Regal in a No-DQ Match to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2010 – Doug Williams defeats Amazing Red to win the TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to 2-time NWA World Champion Ron ‘R-Truth’ Killings (41), UK indy regular Liam Thomson (27) and WWE Hall of Famer Pat Patterson (72)

In Memoriam

On this day in 2007, the wrestling world lost former ECW World and WCW Tag Team Champion Bam Bam Bigelow aged just 45. Bigelow began his career with the CWA, but didn’t last a year before switching to the WWF. He became a fan favorite due to his unusual agility for a man of his size. He left the WWF in 1988 to compete in Japan, finding moderate success before returning to the company in 1992. This time he was pushed as a monster heel, working several high-profile feuds, including one with the New York Giants’ Lawrence Taylor, who he was defeated by at Wrestlemania XI. Bigelow left the WWF once again in 1995, this time due to backstage problems involving The Kliq. He next appeared in ECW, where he would find the biggest success of his in-ring career, winning both their World and Television Titles during his short run. He left ECW for WCW in 1998, finding success in the Tag Team division, but otherwise being used purely for his hardcore abilities. Bigelow’s contract was not taken on by the WWF upon their buyout of WCW and he competed on the independent scene for a number of years, before retiring in 2006. During his brief retirement, Bigelow operated a restaurant in Hamlin, Pennsylvania, but it wasn’t a success, and he relocated to Florida. Bigelow was found dead in his home by his girlfriend, having overdosed on multiple drugs. Whether this was accidental or suicidal is not known. Bigelow was also found to be suffering from heart disease.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply