Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – January 9th‏


In 2000, ECW Guilty As Charged was held in Birmingham, Alabama

– Yoshihiro Tajiri & Super Crazy defeat Little Guido & Jerry Lynn
– Rob Van Dam defeats Sabu to retain the ECW Television Title
– The Impact Players (Lance Storm & Justin Credible) defeat Tommy Dreamer & Raven to win the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Mike Awesome defeats Spike Dudley to retain the ECW World Title

In 2005, WWE New Year’s Revolution was the first WWE PPV to be held in Puerto Rico, specifically, in San Juan. The event got off to a somewhat inauspicious start, with 3 injuries (to Regal, Eugene & Lita) in the first two matches

– Eugene & William Regal defeat Christian & Tyson Tomko to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Trish Stratus defeats Lita to win the WWE Womens Title
– Shelton Benjamin twice defeats Maven to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title. Benjamin won the first match, Maven challenged him again, only to lose again in 5 seconds
– Triple H defeats Edge, Chris Benoit, Chris Jericho, Batista & Randy Orton in an Elimination Chamber Match with Shawn Michaels as special guest referee to win the vacant World Heavyweight Title

In 2011, TNA Genesis was held in Orlando, Florida

– Kazarian defeats Jay Lethal to win the TNA X-Division Title
– Madison Rayne defeats Mickie James to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) defeat The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Abyss defeats Douglas Williams to win the TNA Television Title
– Mr Anderson defeats Matt Morgan
– Mr Anderson defeats Jeff Hardy to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1959 – Pat O’Connor defeats Dick Hutton to win the NWA World Title

1961 – Oni Wiki Wiki defeats Don Kent to win the TSW Oklahoma Junior Heavyweight Title

1962 – Mr M defeats Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1984 – Super Destroyer 1 defeats Brian Adias to win the WCCW Television Title

1998 – Wolf Hawkfield & Johnny Smith defeat Jun Akiyama & Takao Omori to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWF wrestler Luc ‘Sniper’ Poirier (52), one-time CMLL Heavyweight Champion Silver King (45), retired Japanese regular Magnum Tokyo (40) and former WWE announcer Todd Grisham (37)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Would you like to see a Women's Money In The Bank Match?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should WWE have given Cody Rhodes a run as WWE champion?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...