This Day In Wrestling History – January 3rd

Jan 3, 2013 - by Jamie Cruickshank

Title Changes

1977 – Bruiser Brody defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1983 – The Great Kabuki defeats Al Madril to win the WCCW Television Title

1986 – The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts) defeat Kerry von Erich, Kevin von Erich & Brian Adias to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1987 – Masanobu Fuchi defeats Kuniaki Kobayashi to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2000 – on Raw, Triple H defeats The Big Show to win the WWF Title. Also, Chris Jericho & Chyna’s WWF Intercontinental Title match ended in a double pinfall. At the time, they were announced as co-champions, but current WWE Title Histories consider the title vacated

2000 – on Nitro, David Flair & Crowbar win a tournament to win the vacant WCW Tag Team Titles

2008 – Joe Doering & Keiji Mutoh defeat Satoshi Kojima & Taru to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2009 – Minoru Suzuki & Nosawa Rongai defeat Osamu Nishimura & Masanobu Fuchi in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2010 – Masakatsu Funaki & Keiji Mutoh defeat Taiyo Kea & Minoru Suzuki to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWF and ECW wrestler Vic Grimes (50), 3-time ECW Tag Team Champion New Jack (50), famed midget wrestler Lord Littlebrook (84) and WWE Hall of Famer Jim Ross (61)

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply