Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – January 1st

Happy New Year everyone!

Title Changes

1946 – Larry Tillman defeats Marshall Esteppe to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1975 – Harley Race is awarded the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title, thus becoming the first man to hold the title known today as the WWE United States Title

1978 – Blackjack Mulligan defeats Ricky Steamboat to win the NWA Mid-Atlatic United States Title

1982 – Tiger Mask defeats Dynamite Kid to win the vacant WWF Junior Heavyweight Title

1986 – Dick Slater defeats Butch Reed to win the MSW North American Title. Also, Jake Roberts defeats Dick Slater in the final of a tournament to win the vacant MSW Television Title

2012 – El Terrible defeats Rush to win the vacant CMLL World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to one-time WWF Hardcore Champion Rodney (42), one-time TNA World Champion Bobby Roode (36), UK indy regular Roy ‘The Zebra Kid’ Bevis (31), former WCW valet Kimberly Page (43), 2-time CMLL Heavyweight Champion Rayo de Jalisco Jr (53) and legendary manager ‘The Mouth of the South’ Jimmy Hart (69)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response

  1. Ben says:

    Hi just thought you should know that Roy “Zebra Kid” Bevis’ birthday is February 25th not January 1st

Leave a Reply



Does Arnold Schwarzenegger belong in the WWE hall of fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Best Royal Rumble surprise participant?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Jimmy Hart be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...