This Day In Wrestling History – December 25th

Dec 25, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays everyone!


2003 – The first WWE Tribute To The Troops airs as a Smackdown Christmas special

Title Changes

1978 – Kevin von Erich defeats Bruiser Brody to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1978 – Ernie Ladd defeats Ray Candy to win the TSW North American Title. Also, Dusty Rhodes & Andre The Giant defeat Stan Hansen & Ernie Ladd in the final of a tournament to win the vacant TSW United States Tag Team Titles, Ron Bass defeats Karl Kox to win the vacant TSW Brass Knucks Title and Jerry Stubbs defeats Assassin #1 to win the TSW Louisiana Title

1981 – Jose Lothario defeats Ernie Ladd to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1982 – Mike Rotundo defeats Bad Leroy Brown to win the NWA Television Title

1982 – Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes & David von Erich defeat Mike Sharpe, Ben Sharpe & Tom Steele to become the first WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Champions. Von Erich immediately gives up his share of the titles to Buddy Roberts

1983 – Jimmy Garvin defeats Chris Adams to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title. Also, King Parsons & Brian Adias defeat The Super Destroyers (1 & 2) to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1983 – Magnum TA & Mr Wrestling II defeat Butch Reed & Jim Neidhart in a Cage Match to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1984 – The Rock N Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat Ted DiBiase & Hercules Hernandez to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1987 – Eric Embry defeats Shaun Simpson to win the WCCW World Light Heavyweight Title. Also, Chris Adams, Steve Simpson & Kevin von Erich defeat The Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Buddy Roberts & King Parsons) to win the vacant WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1991 – Jushin Liger defeats Brian Pillman to win the WCW Light Heavyweight Title

2003 – Mr Gannosuke & Tetsuhiro Kuroda defeat Jun Kasai & Tengu Kaiser to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 7-time NWA World Tag Team Champion Chris Harris (39) and former TNA wrestler Trenesha ‘Rhaka Khan’ Biggers

Also, today would have been the birthday of Cauliflower Alley Club co-founder Mike Mazurki (105) and former NWA tag team star Bronko Lubich (87)

In Memoriam

On this day in 1991, the wrestling world lost 2-time AWA Tag Team Champion Wilbur Snyder aged 62. Like many wrestlers, Snyder began his sporting career as a football player and made his debut in the 1953 off-season. One year later, he decided to pursue a full-time wrestling career and began training with Warren Bockwinkel and Sandor Szabo. His first major championship came in Chicago in 1956, with further titles following in Omaha, Ohio, Texas, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Detroit amongst others. In 1965, Snyder and Dick The Bruiser bought the NWA Indianapolis territory, forming Championship Wrestling Incorporated. The promotion drew strong crowds into the mid-70’s, by which time Snyder’s age had seen his ring work deteriorate. He continued wrestling into the early 80’s, but it was clear that the desire was gone and he retired for good in 1982, selling his share of CWI to Bruiser. He made a brief comeback to wrestling in 1984, attempting to co-promote the AWA in Indianapolis, but the venture was a failure and he retired once more. He lived out the rest of his life in and around Pompano Beach, Florida where he eventually died of a leukaemia-related heart attack. Snyder’s lasting legacy on the wrestling business is the invention of the Abdominal Stretch hold.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply