This Day In Wrestling History – December 13th‏

Dec 13, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1979 – The Funks (Dory Jr & Terry) win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

1981 – Bruiser Brody & Jimmy Snuka win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

1982 – The Funks (Dory Jr & Terry) win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League


In 1988, AWA SuperClash III was held in Chicago, Illinois

– Iceman King Parsons defeats Brickhouse Brown to retain the Texas Heavyweight Title
– Greg Gagne defeats Ronnie Garvin to win the AWA Television Title
– The Samoan Swat Team (Samu & Fatu) defeat Michael Hayes & Steve Cox to retain the WCCW Tag Team Titles
– Jerry Lawler defeats Kerry Von Erich via referee stoppage to retain the AWA World Title and win the WCCW Title
– The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden

In 1989, NWA Starrcade, held in Atlanta, Georgia, was promoted by WCW under the NWA banner. The event solely featured Round Robin tournaments between four individuals (The Iron Man Tournament) and four teams (The Iron Team Tournament). Points were awarded as follows: 20 for a pinfall or submission victory, 15 for a countout victory, 10 for a DQ victory, 5 for a draw and 0 for a loss

– In the Iron Man Tournament, Sting (40pts) defeats Lex Luger (35), Ric Flair (25) & The Great Muta (0)
– In the Iron Team Tournament, The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal, 40) defeat The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott, 35), The New Wild Samoans (The Samoan Savage & Fatu, 30) & Doom (Ron Simmons & Butch Reed, 0)

In 1998, WWF Rock Bottom: In Your House was held in Vancouver, Canada

– On Heat, Gillberg defeats Matt Hardy to retain the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– The New Age Outlaws (Road Dogg & Billy Gunn) defeat The Big Boss Man & Ken Shamrock to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Mankind defeats The Rock by KO (The Rock retains the WWF Title)
– Steve Austin defeats The Undertaker in a Buried Alive Match

In 2009, the first WWE TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs PPV was held in San Antonio, Texas. Most matches on the card featured some combination of the 3 weapons

– Christian defeats Shelton Benjamin in a Ladder Match to retain the ECW Title
– Drew McIntyre defeats John Morrison to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Michelle McCool defeats Mickie James to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Sheamus defeats John Cena in a Tables Match to win the WWE Title
– The Undertaker defeats Batista in a Chair Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– D-Generation X (Triple H & Shawn Michaels) defeat Jeri-Show (Chris Jericho & The Big Show) in a TLC Match to win the WWE Unified Tag Team Titles

In 2010, the WWE Slammy Award Show was held in New Orleans, Louisiana

– The Nexus won Shocker of the Year for their debut
– Pee-Wee Herman won Guest Star Shining Moment of the Year for his confrontation with The Miz
– John Cena won the Holy %&@#! Move of the Year for giving Batista the AA through the stage
– Edge won Meltdown of the Year for attacking and destroying the Raw GM computer
– Michelle McCool won Diva of the Year by winning a Battle Royal
– Shawn Michaels’ final match against The Undertaker won WWE Moment of the Year
– John Cena won Superstar of the Year in an online vote

Title Changes

1920 – Ed ‘Strangler’ Lewis defeats Joe Stecher to win the World Heavyweight Title

1988 – Jerry Lawler defeats Kerry von Erich to unify the WCCW and AWA World Heavyweight Titles. The combined title is called the USWA Unified World Title. Also, Eric Embry defeats Jeff Jarrett to win the WCCW World Light Heavyweight Title

1989 – The Colossal Connection (Andre The Giant & Haku) defeat Demolition (Ax & Smash) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1993 – Alundra Blayze defeats Heidi Lee Morgan in the final of a tournament to win the reinstated WWF Womens Title

1998 – Sabu & Rob Van Dam defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Nitro, The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) defeat Bret Hart & Goldberg to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

2002 – Ultimo Guerrero defeats Shocker to win the CMLL World Light Heavyweight Title

2002 – Sting defeats Lex Luger & Malice in a 3-Way Match to win the WWA Heavyweight Title

2005 – Batista & Rey Mysterio defeat MNM (Joey Mercury & Johnny Nitro) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles

2008 – John Morrison & The Miz defeat CM Punk & Kofi Kingston to win the World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time AWA Tag Team Champion Boris Zhukov (53) and 3-time Mexican Tag Team Champion Fuerza Guerrera (59)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WCW wrestler Emory Hail (43), WWE Hall of Famer Junkyard Dog (60) and famed NWA promoter Leroy McGuirk (102)

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply