Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – December 11th‏


1980 – Giant Baba & Jumbo Tsuruta win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

1986 – Antonio Inoki & Yoshiaki Fujiwara win the NJPW Japan Cup Tag League, defeating Akira Maeda & Osamu Kido in the final

1987 – Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League


In 2001, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Osaka, Japan

– Ten-Koji (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima) defeat Yuji Nagata & Manabu Nakanishi
– Kendo Kashin, Jushin Liger, Minoru Tanaka & Black Tiger defeat Koji Kanemoto, Gedo, Jado & Gokudo
– Keiji Muto defeats Tatsumi Fujinami to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title
– Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima defeat Mike Barton & Jim Steele to win the G-1 Tag Team League

In 2004, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Osaka, Japan

– Manabu Nakanishi & Jushin Liger defeat Riki Choshu & Tomohiro Ishii
– Masahiro Chono defeats Yuji Nagata
– Hiroyoshi Tenzan fought Satoshi Kojima to a time-limit draw
– Hiroshi Tanahashi & Shinsuke Nakamura defeat Kensuke Sasaki & Minoru Suzuki to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

In 2005, TNA Turning Point was held in Orlando, Florida. Jeff Hardy no-showed this event, leading to his TNA departure

– Sabu defeats Abyss in a Barbed Wire Massacre
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm) in a Tables Match
– Samoa Joe defeats AJ Styles to win the TNA X-Division Title
– Jeff Jarrett defeats Rhino to retain the NWA World Title

In 2010, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Osaka, Japan

– NO LIMIT (Yujiro Takahashi & Tetsuya Naito) defeat The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin)
– Bad Intentions (Giant Bernard & Karl Anderson) defeat Blue Justice Army (Wataru Inoue & Yuji Nagata) to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Prince Devitt defeats Davey Richards to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Hirooki Goto
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Shinsuke Nakamura to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2011, TNA Final Resolution was held in Orlando, Florida

– Robbie E defeats Eric Young to retain the TNA Television Title
– Crimson & Matt Morgan defeat D’Angelo Dinero & Devon to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Austin Aries defeats Kid Kash to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Gail Kim defeats Mickie James to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Jeff Hardy defeats Jeff Jarrett in a Cage Match
– Bobby Roode fought AJ Styles to a draw in a 30-Minute Ironman Match to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1959 – Danny McShain defeats Mr Moto to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1971 – The Spoiler defeats Wahoo McDaniel to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1997 – on Raw, Shawn Michaels intentionally loses his WWF European Title defense to Triple H

2002 – Sonny Siaki defeats Jerry Lynn to win the TNA X-Division Title

2004 – Hiroshi Tanahashi & Shinsuke Nakamura defeat Minoru Suzuki & Yoshihiro Takayama to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

2009 – El Mesias defeats Dr Wagner Jr to win the AAA Heavyweight Title


Today would have been the birthday of former ECW and AJPW Tag Team Champion Doug Furnas (53)

Also, there are many sources which cite today as the birthday of Rey Mysterio (38), however, I also have conflicting sources which place it as tomorrow

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Is the United States championship more prestigious than the WWE championship?

Loading ... Loading ...

Your favorite "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Wrestlemania match?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Molly Holly be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...