This Day In Wrestling History – November 19th‏

Nov 19, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – There were many notable moments on tonight’s Raw

– Paul Heyman is replaced by Jerry Lawler at the Raw announce table and by Tazz on the following Smackdown
– The Vince McMahon Kiss My Ass Club debuts, with William Regal being the first unlucky inductee
– Shane & Stephanie McMahon are (kayfabe) fired from the WWF
– Ric Flair returned to the WWF, having bought out Shane & Stephanie. Flair became co-owner of the WWF in a storyline that would lead to the Brand Extension


In 1991, WCW Clash of the Champions XVII was the first Clash not to have a subtitle. It was held in Savannah, Georgia

– Steve Austin defeats PN News to retain the WCW Television Title
– Dusty Rhodes & Ricky Steamboat (replacing Barry Windham) defeat The Enforcers (Arn Anderson & Larry Zbyszko) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Brian Pillman defeats Johnny B Badd to retain the WCW Light Heavyweight Title
– Rick Rude defeats Sting to win the WCW United States Title
– Lex Luger defeats Rick Steiner to retain the WCW World Title

In 1995, WWF Survivor Series was held in Landover, Maryland. It broke the tradition of Survivor Series taking place on or around Thanksgiving

– The Darkside (The Undertaker, Savio Vega, Fatu & Henry Godwinn) defeat The Royals (King Mabel, Jerry Lawler, Isaac Yankem & Hunter Hearst Helmsley) in a Survivor Series Match with all of The Darkside surviving
– Shawn Michaels, Ahmed Johnson, The British Bulldog & Sycho Sid defeat Yokozuna, Owen Hart, Razor Ramon & Dean Douglas in a Survivor Series Match with Michaels, Johnson & Bulldog surviving
– Bret Hart defeats Diesel in a No-DQ Match to win the WWF Title

In 2000, WWF Survivor Series was held in Tampa, Florida

– William Regal defeats Hardcore Holly by DQ to retain the WWF European Title
– Ivory defeats Lita to retain the WWF Womens Title
– Kurt Angle defeats The Undertaker to retain the WWF Title
– The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) & The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) defeat Edge & Christian and Right To Censor (Bull Buchanan & The Goodfather) in a Survivor Series Match with Jeff Hardy as the lone survivor
– Steve Austin fought Triple H to a no contest in a No-DQ Match after Austin dropped the car Triple H was in from a forklift

In 2005, AJPW The Unchained World was held in Tokyo, Japan

– TAKA Michinoku, Taiyo Kea & Bull Buchanan defeat Arashi, Akira & Ryuji Hijikata
– Akira Raijin & Kohei Suwama defeat Shuji Kondo & Brother Yasshi
– Akebono defeats Giant Bernard
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat Jamal & D-Lo Brown
– The Great Muta defeats The Great Ruta
– Satoshi Kojima defeats Kensuke Sasaki to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

In 2006, TNA Genesis was held in Orlando, Florida

– Christopher Daniels defeats Chris Sabin to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat America’s Most Wanted (James Storm & Chris Harris) to retain the NWA Tag Team Titles
– Abyss defeats Sting by DQ to win the NWA World Title after Sting accidentally hit the referee (at the time, a title could change hands on a DQ in TNA)
– Kurt Angle defeats Samoa Joe

Title Changes

1950 – Danny McShain defeats Verne Gagne to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1960 – Johnny Valentine & Buddy Rogers defeat The Fabulous Kangaroos to win the NWA Northeast United States Tag Team Titles

1966 – Mad Dog Vachon defeats Dick The Bruiser to win the AWA World Title

1990 – Mr Perfect defeats The Texas Tornado to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1994 – Chris Candido defeats Tracy Smothers in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA World Title


Happy birthday to former WCW owner Ted Turner (74)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF and WCW valet Miss Elizabeth (52)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply