This Day In Wrestling History – October 22nd‏

Oct 22, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1995, WWF In Your House 4 was held in Winnipeg, Canada

– The Smoking Gunns (Billy & Bart) defeat The 123 Kid & Razor Ramon to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Dean Douglas defeats Shawn Michaels by forfeit to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Razor Ramon defeats Dean Douglas to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The British Bulldog defeats Diesel by DQ (Diesel retains the WWF Title)

In 2000, WWF No Mercy was held in Albany, New York

– Steve Austin fought Rikishi to a no-contest in a No Holds Barred Match after Austin was arrested for trying to run over Rikishi with a car
– William Regal defeats Naked Mideon to retain the WWF European Title
– Los Conquistadors (Edge & Christian in masks) defeat The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Triple H defeats Chris Benoit
– Kurt Angle defeats The Rock in a No-DQ Match to win the WWF Title

In 2006, TNA Bound For Glory was the first TNA PPV to be held outside of the Impact Zone or the Asylum, being held in Plymouth, Michigan. As a result, it smashed the TNA PPV attendance record with 3600 fans turning out, though the record has since been broken

– Samoa Joe defeats Brother Runt, Raven & Abyss in a Monster’s Ball Match with Jake Roberts as special guest referee
– Eric Young defeats Larry Zbyszko in a Loser Is Fired Match
– Chris Sabin defeats Senshi to win the TNA X-Division Title
– Christian Cage defeats Rhino in an 8 Mile Street Fight
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels in a Six Sides Of Steel Match to win the NWA Tag Team Titles
– Sting defeats Jeff Jarrett with Kurt Angle as special guest enforcer to win the NWA World Title. Had Sting lost, he would have been forced to retire

Title Changes

1979 – Ivan Putski & Tito Santana defeat Jerry & Johnny Valiant to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1984 – The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeat The Rock & Soul Connection (King Parsons & Buck Zumhofe) to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1994 – Toshiaki Kawada defeats Steve Williams to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2001 – Many title changes on Raw. Kurt Angle defeats Rhyno to win the WCW United States Title, Chris Jericho & The Rock defeat The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles, Bradshaw defeats The Hurricane to win the WWF European Title and Tajiri defeats Billy Kidman to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2001 – Taiyo Kea & Keiji Mutoh defeat Yoji Ano & Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2002 – Jeff Jarrett defeats AJ Styles to win the NWA World Title

2005 – Shuji Kondo defeats Taka Michinoku to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to the first WWF ‘Eurocontinental’ Champion D’Lo Brown (42), 2-time CZW Iron Man Champion Adam Flash (41), former WWE developmental talent Mike Kruel (30) and WWE Hall of Famer Pedro Morales (70)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF wrestler Bad News Brown (69)

In Memoriam

On this day in 2005, the wrestling world lost 3-time AWA World Champion Reggie ‘Crusher’ Lisowski at the age of 79. Lisowski’s career was nearly ended prematurely in 1981 when the 450-pound Jerry Blackwell botched a top rope move, landing on Lisowski’s right arm, causing major nerve damage. He did manage to recover though, and came out of his ‘unofficial retirement’ to work part time for Vince McMahon’s WWF. Interestingly, he claims that he made more money working part-time for McMahon than he did full-time at Verne Gagne’s AWA. His final match came in 1988, but he continued to be involved with wrestling through the 90’s. Sadly, his final years were marred by health problems, indeed, upon his death he was crippled from repeated knee surgeries and partially paralyzed after having a tumor removed from his brain. It was the latter that eventually claimed his life

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply