This Day In Wrestling History – September 28th‏

Sep 28, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2010 – WWE NXT ends its run on Syfy, moving to the following week

Title Changes

1976 – Pat Barret defeats Nelson Royal in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1979 – Mike George wins a Battle Royal, last eliminating Buck Robley to become the first MSW Tag Team Champion. He chose Bob Sweetan to defend the titles with him

1982 – Mr Olympia defeats Killer Khan to win the MSW Mississippi Title

1986 – Krusher Khruschev & Ivan Koloff defeat The Kansas Jayhawks (Dutch Mantel & Bobby Jaggers) to win the NWA United States Tag Team Titles

1986 – Buddy Roberts defeats Terry Taylor to win the UWF Television Title

2006 – Wild Child (Manabu Nakanishi & Takao Omori) defeat Shiro Koshinaka & Togi Makabe to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

2008 – The Great Muta defeats Suwama to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title. Also, Naomichi Marufuji defeats Ryuji Hijikata to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to 6-time WWF Hardcore Champion Steve Blackman (49), current CMLL Tag Team Champion Atlantis (50) and Japanese tag team legend Jado (44)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply