This Day In Wrestling History – September 19th‏

Sep 19, 2012 - by Steve Gerweck


In 1993, the first WCW Fall Brawl was held in Houston, Texas

– Lord Steven Regal defeats Ricky Steamboat to win the WCW Television Title
– The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) defeat Arn Anderson & Paul Roma to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Rick Rude defeats Ric Flair to win the WCW International World Title (this match was originally advertised as an NWA World Title match, but the Big Gold Belt was renamed following WCW’s withdrawal from the NWA around 2 weeks previously)
– Sting, Davey Boy Smith, Dustin Rhodes & The Shockmaster defeat Sid Vicious, Vader & Harlem Heat (Kole & Kane) in a WarGames Match

In 1999, the first ECW Anarchy Rulz PPV was held in Villa Park, Illinois

– Yoshihiro Tajiri defeats Super Crazy & Little Guido in a 3-Way Dance
– Mike Awesome defeats Masato Tanaka & Taz in a 3-Way Dance to win the ECW World Title
– Tommy Dreamer & Raven defeat Steve Corino & Rhino to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Rob Van Dam defeats Balls Mahoney to retain the ECW Television Title

In 2008, ROH Driven was held in Boston, Massachusetts

– Bryan Danielson defeats Claudio Castagnoli & Go Shiozaki in a 3-Way Elimination Match
– The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) defeat The Vulture Squad (Ruckus & Jisaw), The YRR (Jason Blade & Kenny King) & Necro Butcher in a Tag Team Scramble Match
– Nigel McGuinness defeats Roderick Strong to retain the ROH World Title
– Kevin Steen & El Generico defeat The Age Of The Fall (Jimmy Jacobs & Tyler Black) to win the ROH Tag Team Titles

In 2010, WWE Night Of Champions was the first NOC to feature a non-title match. It was held in Rosemont, Illinois

– Dolph Ziggler defeats Kofi Kingston to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Daniel Bryan defeats The Miz to win the WWE United States Title
– Michelle McCool defeats Melina in a Lumberjill Match to unify the WWE Womens and Divas Titles
– Kane defeats The Undertaker in a No Holds Barred Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Cody Rhodes & Drew McIntyre won a Tag Team Turmoil Match to win the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Randy Orton defeats Sheamus, Wade Barrett, Edge, John Cena & Chris Jericho in a Six-Pack Challenge Elimination Match to win the WWE Title

In 2011, NJPW’s Kantaro Hoshino Memorial Show was held in Kobe, Japan

– Prince Devitt defeats Kushida to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Masato Tanaka, Davey Richards & Rocky Romero defeat MVP, Tiger Mask IV & Ryusuke Taguchi
– Minoru Suzuki defeats Wataru Inoue
– Tetsuya Naito defeats Yujiro Takahashi
– Togi Makabe defeats Lance Archer
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Shinsuke Nakamura to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1979 – Mike Sharpe Jr defeats Mike George to win the MSW Mississippi Title

1982 – David von Erich defeats Bill Irwin to win the vacant Texas Heavyweight Title

1986 – Shiro Koshinaka defeats Nobuhiko Takada to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1988 – The Samoan SWAT Team (Samu & Fatu) defeat Michael Hayes & Steve Cox to win the WCCW World Tag Team Titles

1991 – Danny Davis defeats Masaru Toe to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2000 – Mike Rapada defeats Jerry Flynn in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA World Title

2011 – Prince Devitt defeats Kushida to win the vacant IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer Jerry Brisco (66), former WCW wrestler Scotty O (35) and former IWGP, GHC and AJPW Heavyweight Champion Yoshihiro Takayama (46)

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply