This Day In Wrestling History – September 17th‏

Sep 17, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1995, WCW Fall Brawl was held in Asheville, North Carolina

– Diamond Dallas Page defeats The Renegade to win the WCW Television Title
– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat Bunkhouse Buck & Dick Slater to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Arn Anderson defeats Ric Flair
– The Hulkamaniacs (Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Lex Luger & Sting) defeat The Dungeon of Doom (Kamala, The Zodiac, The Shark & Meng) in a WarGames Match

In 2000, the final WCW Fall Brawl was held in Buffalo, New York

– Elix Skipper defeats Kwee Wee to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Lance Storm defeats General Rection with Jim Duggan as special guest enforcer to retain the WCW United States Title
– Shane Douglas & Torrie Wilson defeat Billy Kidman & Madusa in a Scaffold Match
– Sting defeats The Great Muta & Vampiro in a Triangle Match
– Scott Steiner defeats Goldberg in a No-DQ Match
– Booker T defeats Kevin Nash in a Caged Heat Match to win the WCW World Title

In 2006, WWE Unforgiven was a Raw-exclusive event and featured the final match for Trish Stratus in her active wrestling career. It was held in Toronto, Canada

– Johnny Nitro defeats Jeff Hardy to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– The Spirit Squad (Kenny & Mikey) defeat The Highlanders (Robbie & Rory McAllister) to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– D-Generation X (Triple H & Shawn Michaels) defeat Vince McMahon, Shane McMahon & The Big Show in a Handicap Hell In A Cell Match
– Trish Stratus defeats Lita to win the WWE Womens Title
– John Cena defeats Edge in a TLC Match to win the WWE Title

In 2011, ROH Death Before Dishonor IX was held in New York City

– The Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson) defeat Future Shock (Adam Cole & Kyle O’Reilly) & The Bravado Brothers (Harlem & Lancelot) in a 3-Way Elimination Match
– El Generico fought Jimmy Jacobs to a no contest
– Eddie Edwards defeats Roderick Strong in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match
– The All Night Express (Kenny King & Rhett Titus) defeat The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) in Ladder War III

Title Changes

1966 – Bette Boucher defeats The Fabulous Moolah to win the NWA Womens Title. Current WWE Title Histories do not recognise this change

1974 – Wrestling Pro defeats Ken Mantell to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title. This change is only recognised in the Gulf Coast region

1979 – The Spoiler & Mark Lewin defeat Kerry von Erich & Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1981 – Ric Flair defeats Dusty Rhodes to win the NWA World Title

2001 – on Raw, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeat The Brothers Of Destruction (The Undertaker & Kane) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2005 – Bryan Danielson defeats James Gibson to win the ROH World Title

2006 – Averno defeats Negro Casas to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title


Happy birthday to 4-time World Class Television Champion Bill ‘The Goon’ Irwin (58), 7-time IWGP Tag Team Champion Masahiro Chono (49), legendary manager Jim Cornette (51) and founder of ROH, Evolve and DragonGate USA Gabe Sapolsky (40)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply