This Day In Wrestling History – August 14th‏

Aug 14, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2005 – Masahiro Chono wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Kazuyuki Fujita in the final


In 1999, the final WCW Road Wild was held at the motorcycle rally in Sturgis, South Dakota

– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat The Jersey Triad (Chris Kanyon & Bam Bam Bigelow) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Chris Benoit defeats Diamond Dallas Page in a No-DQ Match to retain the WCW United States Title
– Sid Vicious defeats Sting
– Randy Savage defeats Dennis Rodman
– Hulk Hogan defeats Kevin Nash in a Retirement Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2005, the first TNA Sacrifice was held in Orlando, Florida

– 3Live Kru (Konnan & Ron Killings) defeat Kip James & Monty Brown with BG James as special guest referee
– Christopher Daniels defeats Austin Aries. Aries was selected as Daniels’ opponent by an internet poll also including Roderick Strong, Jay Lethal & Matt Sydal
– Samoa Joe defeats AJ Styles to win the 2005 Super X Cup Tournament
– Jeff Jarrett & Rhino defeat Raven & Sabu

In 2011, WWE Summerslam was held in Los Angeles, California for the third straight year

– Kelly Kelly defeats Beth Phoenix to retain the WWE Divas Title
– Randy Orton defeats Christian in a No Holds Barred Match to win the World Heavyweight Title
– CM Punk defeats John Cena with Triple H as special guest referee to become the ‘undisputed’ WWE Champion
– Alberto Del Rio cashes in his Money In The Bank and defeats CM Punk to win the WWE Title

Also in 2011, NJPW G-1 Climax XXI: The Invincible Fighter was held in Tokyo, Japan. The event mostly featured G1 Climax Tournament matches

– Tetsuya Naito defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Minoru Suzuki
– Apollo 55 (Ryusuke Taguchi & Prince Devitt) defeat Golden Lovers (Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi) to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeats Tetsuya Naito to win the G1 Climax Tournament

Title Changes

1998 – The Border Patrol (Agent Gunn & Agent Maxx) defeat The New Midnight Express (Bob Holly & Bart Gunn) to win the NWA Tag Team Titles

1999 – Spike Dudley & Balls Mahoney defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

2000 – Several titles change hands on Nitro. The Filthy Animals (Rey Misterio Jr & Juventud Guerrera) defeat Dark Carnival (Vampiro & The Great Muta) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles. Also, Lance Storm awards the WCW Cruiserweight and Hardcore Titles to Elix Skipper and Carl Ouelette respectively, though Ouelette would lose the Hardcore Title to Norman Smiley later in the show

2006 – Lita defeats Mickie James to win the WWE Womens Title


Happy birthday to 4-time WW(W)F Champion Bob Backlund (63), former WCW Tag and Television Champion Bobby Eaton (54), former WCW wrestler Jeff Farmer known for his appearances as Fake/nWo Sting (50) and indy star Johnny Gargano (25)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former ECW, USWA, AWA, WWC and UWF Tag Champion ‘Hot Stuff’ Eddie Gilbert (51)

(Visited 10 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply