This Day In Wrestling History – July 19th

Jul 19, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 2003, All Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan. Most records refer to the event as ‘July 2003 PPV’

– Big John Tenta, George Hines & Robbie Brookside defeat Hiroshi Hase, Shigeo Okumura & Masayuki Kono – Kohei Sato & Hiro Yokoi defeat Hideki Hosaka & Yusaku – Arashi defeats Nobutaka Araya – Kohei Sato & Hiro Yokoi defeat Tomoaki Honma & Kazushi Miyamoto to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles – The Great Muta defeats Gigantes – Toshiaki Kawada & Satoshi Kojima defeat Naoya Ogawa & Kaysuhisa Fujii

In 2009, TNA Victory Road was held in Orlando, Florida

– Angelina Love defeats Tara to win the TNA Knockouts Title – Abyss defeats Dr Stevie in a No-DQ Match – Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat The British Invasion (Brutus Magnus & Doug Williams) to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles – Jenna Morasca defeats Sharmell – Kevin Nash defeats AJ Styles in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA Legends Title – The Main Event Mafia (Booker T & Scott Steiner) defeat Beer Money Inc (Robert Roode & James Storm) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles – Samoa Joe defeats Sting – Kurt Angle defeats Mick Foley to retain the TNA World Title

In 2010, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tsukisamu, Japan

– Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi) defeat Koji Kanemoto & El Samurai to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles – Bad Intentions (Giant Bernard & Karl Anderson) defeat Blue Justice Army (Yuji Nagata & Wataru Inoue) & NO LIMIT (Yujiro Takahashi & Tetsuya Naito) in a Dogfight Match – Hiroshi Tanahashi defeats Takashi Iizuka – Togi Makabe defeats Shinsuke Nakamura to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1968 – Fritz von Erich & Grizzly Smith defeat The Spoiler & Gary Hart to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1971 – Thunderbolt Patterson & Toru Tanaka defeat Johnny Valentine & Wahoo McDaniel to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1982 – Bill Irwin defeats Brian Adias to win the WCCW Television Title

1990 – The Great Kabuki & Jumbo Tsuruta defeat The Miracle Violence Connection (Terry Gordy & Steve Williams) to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1996 – Aquarius defeats Dr Wagner Jr to win the CMLL World Light Heavyweight Title. This change is not currently recognised by CMLL

1997 – Yoshiko Tamura defeats Toshie Uematsu to win the WCW Womens Cruiserweight Title

1997 – The Gangstas (New Jack & Mustafa Saed) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

1998 – Yoshinari Ogawa defeats Satoru Asako in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2002 – Koji Kanemoto defeats Minoru Tanaka to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to tag team legend Robert Gibson (54), one-time GHC Junior Heavyweight Champion Michael Modest (41), former ECW and ROH Tag Team Champion Tony Mamaluke (35), former CMLL Lightweight, Tag and Trios Champion Rey Bucanero (38), 5-time AJPW Unified Tag Team Champion Yoshiaki Yatsu (56) and TNA personality Jeremy Borash (38)

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply