This Day In Wrestling History – June 11th‏

Jun 11, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1985 – Andre The Giant wins the NJPW IWGP League, defeating Tatsumi Fujinami in the final

2003 – Masahito Kakihara wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Koji Kanemoto in the final


In 1999, AAA TripleMania VII was held in Madero, Mexico

– Los Spice Boys (Alan, Billy & Vangelis) defeat Los Payasos (Coco Rojo, Coco Verde & Coco Amarillo)
– Los Vatos Locos (Charly Manson, El Picudo, Nygma & May Flowers) fought Los Vipers (Histeria, Psicosis II, Maniaco & Mosco de la Merced) to a double-DQ
– Pentagon defeats Xochitl Hamada by DQ
– Heavy Metal & El Felino defeat Kick Boxer & Thai Boxer in a Hair vs Hair Match. The two teams were fighting on behalf of referees Pepe Casas and El Tirantes. As a result, El Tirantes was shaved bald
– Perro Aguayo, Octagon & El Cobarde defeat El Texano, Perro Aguayo Jr & Sangre Chicana

In 2000, WCW’s The Great American Bash was the final Bash produced by WCW, though it would later be revived as a WWE PPV. It was held in Baltimore, Maryland

– Lt Loco defeats Disco Inferno to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Mike Awesome defeats Diamond Dallas Page in an Ambulance Match
– Scott Steiner defeats Rick Steiner & Tank Abbott in a Handicap Asylum Match
– Hulk Hogan defeats Billy Kidman with Horace Hogan as special guest referee. Had Hogan lost, he would have been forced to retire
– Ric Flair defeats David Flair. Had Ric lost, he would have been forced to retire
– Vampiro defeats Sting in a Human Torch Match
– Jeff Jarrett defeats Kevin Nash with Ernest Miller as special guest enforcer to retain the WCW World Title

In 2006, ECW One Night Stand was held in New York City. Unlike the previous year’s event, this ONS also featured WWE wrestlers and matches. The ECW brand debuted shortly after this event

– Rey Mysterio fought Sabu to a no-contest in an Extreme Rules Match after both men were kayfabe injured in a table spot (Mysterio retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– Mick Foley, Edge & Lita defeat Terry Funk, Tommy Dreamer & Beulah McGillicutty in an Extreme Rules Match
– Balls Mahoney defeats Masato Tanaka in an Extreme Rules Match
– Rob Van Dam defeats John Cena in an Extreme Rules Match to win the WWE Title

In 2011, TNA Final Resolution was held in Orlando, Florida

– Robbie E defeats Eric Young to retain the TNA Television Title
– Crimson & Matt Morgan defeat D’Angelo Dinero & Devon to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Austin Aries defeats Kid Kash to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Gail Kim defeats Mickie James to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Jeff Hardy defeats Jeff Jarrett in a Cage Match
– Bobby Roode fought AJ Styles to a draw in a 30-Minute Ironman Match to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1981 – Takashi Ishikawa & Akio Sato defeat The Von Erichs (David & Kevin) to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1984 – Chris Adams wins the vacant WCCW Television Title

2003 – AJ Styles defeats Jeff Jarrett & Raven in a 3-Way Match to win the NWA World Title


Happy birthday to indy wrestler Johnny Candido (30), former AWA Tag Team Champion Mike Enos (49), former NWA star ‘Magnum TA’ Terry Allen (53) and Japanese hardcore star Shadow WX (43)

In Memoriam

On this day in 1976, the wrestling world lost the co-promoter of the WWWF Toots Mondt at the age of 82. Mondt revolutionized the wrestling industry by introducing the now-normal roles of bookers and agents. Mondt was also one of the first to introduce the scripted finish to his matches. He was also the man who brought wrestling back to Madison Square Garden in 1948 after a 9-year absence. Mondt’s influence on the WWWF began to wane in the television era and Vince McMahon Sr eventually bought him out and reduced him to a salaried employee of the company. Mondt passed away after a long battle with illness (the specifics of which are unclear). Sadly, due to a crippling gambling addiction, Mondt was nearly broke upon his death

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply