Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – June 8th‏


1999 – Kendo Kashin wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Koji Kanemoto in the final

2008 – WWE begins airing ‘Vintage Collection’ (later renamed Vintage Classics), a look back at classic matches hosted by Gene Okerlund

2010 – WWE NXT season 2 begins on Syfy


In 1988, NWA Clash of Champions II: Miami Mayhem was held in Miami, Florida. This was the second of what would be 35 Clash of (the) Champions TV specials

– Barry Windham defeats Brad Armstrong to retain the NWA United States Title
– The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeat The Sheepherders (Luke Williams & Butch Miller) to retain the NWA United States Tag Team Titles
– Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard fought Sting & Dusty Rhodes to a double DQ after interference from Ric Flair & Barry Windham (Anderson & Blanchard retain the NWA Tag Team Titles)

In 1997, WWF King of the Ring was held in Providence, Rhode Island

– The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart, Owen Hart & Jim Neidhart) defeat Sycho Sid & The Legion of Doom (Hawk & Animal) in a 6-Man Tag Team Match
– Hunter Hearst Helmsley wins the King of the Ring Tournament, defeating Mankind in the final
– Shawn Michaels fough Steve Austin to a double DQ due to both men attacking the referee
– The Undertaker defeats Faarooq to retain the WWF Title

In 2008, TNA Slammiversary was held in Southaven, Mississippi. This event was marred by a fatal accident after the show; Kevin Sinex, an independent contractor, was disassembling the set, when the scaffolding he was standing on collapsed

– Petey Williams defeats Kaz to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Awesome Kong won two $25,000 Fan Challenges against ‘fans’ Serena Deeb & Josie Robinson
– AJ Styles defeats Kurt Angle
– Samoa Joe defeats Robert Roode, Booker T, Rhino & Christian Cage in a King of the Mountain Match with Kevin Nash as special guest enforcer to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1963 – Johnny Barend defeats Bobo Brazil to win the WWWF United States Title

1990 – Stan Hansen defeats Terry Gordy to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

1999 – on Raw, Ivory defeats Debra to win the WWF Womens Title

2001 – Keiji Mutoh defeats Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title. Also, Masahito Kakihara & Mitsuya Nagai defeat Shinya Makabe & Yuji Nagata to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2003 – Arashi & Keiji Mutoh defeat Satoshi Kojima & Jimmy Yang in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW Unified Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time CZW World Champion Egotistico Fantastico (30), former WWF/E star Tatanka (51), 5-time PWG Tag Team Champion Scott Lost (32) and 2-time NWA World Champion Dan Severn (54)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 3-time NWA World Champion Wild Bill Longson (116)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Should WWE have given Cody Rhodes a run as WWE champion?

Loading ... Loading ...

Best match at Extreme Rules?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...