This Day In Wrestling History – June 6th‏

Jun 6, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2011 – Andy Leavine wins the revival series of WWE Tough Enough


In 2001, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan

– Mitsuya Nagai defeats Takashi Iizuka by TKO
– Toshiaki Kawada defeats Satoshi Kojima
– Jinsei Shinzaki, Taiyo Kea & Jushin Liger defeat Akira Nogami, Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Masa Chono
– Keiji Mutoh defeats Hiroshi Hase
– Kazuyuki Fujita defeats Yuji Nagata by TKO to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2010, AAA TripleMania XVIII was held in Mexico City

– Octagoncito defeats Mini Abismo Negro, Mini Charly Manson, Mascarita Divina, Mini Psicosis, Mini Histeria, Mascarita Sagrada, La Parkita & Mini Chessman in a TLC Match to win the AAA Mini-Estrellas Title
– Los Maniacos (Silver Cain & Ultimo Gladiator) defeat Beer Money Inc (Robert Roode & James Storm), Atsushi Aoki & Go Shiozaki & La Hermandad 187 (Nicho & Joe Lider) in a Four-Way Elimination Tag Team Match to win the AAA Tag Team Titles
– Team Hijo del Tirantes (Alex Koslov, Chessman & Hernandez) defeat Team Pierro (Heavy Metal, Octagon & Pimpinela Escarlata) in a Hair vs Hair Cage Match, forcing referee Pierro to shave his head
– Cibernetico & Abyss defeat El Zorro & Vampiro in an Extreme Rules Tag Team Match
– Jack Evans defeats Extreme Tiger, Christopher Daniels & Nosawa in a Four-Way Elimination Match to win the AAA Cruiserweight Title
– Dr Wagner Jr defeats Electroshock to retain the AAA World Title
– LA Park defeats La Parka to win the rights to the name ‘La Parka’

Title Changes

1964 – Luke & Dr Jerry Graham defeat Don McClairty & Argentina Apollo to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1966 – Fritz von Erich defeats Brute Bernard to become the first WCCW American Heavyweight Champion

1981 – Jake Roberts defeats The Grappler to win the MSW North American Title

1982 – Jimmy Valiant defeats Ivan Koloff to win the NWA Television Title

1993 – Shawn Michaels defeats Marty Jannetty to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2000 – on Thunder, Lieutenant Loco defeats Daffney & Disco Inferno in a Triple Threat Match to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title. Also, Eric Bischoff awards the WCW Hardcore Title to Johnny Stamboli & Big Vito, though for unknown reasons, Vito would eventually be named sole champion

2003 – Tamon Honda & Kenta Kobashi defeat Jun Akiyama & Akitoshi Saito to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2008 – The Age of the Fall (Jimmy Jacobs & Tyler Black) defeat Kevin Steen & El Generico in the final of a tournament to win the vacant ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWF wrestler Ted Arcidi (54), indy hardcore star 2 Tuff Tony (38), former JCP wrestler Rip Hawk (91), one-time WWE Intercontinental Champions Drew McIntyre (27) and Ahmed Johnson (42) and 3-time TNA Knockouts Champion ODB (34)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply