Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – May 21st‏


In 1995, WCW Slamboree was held in St Petersburg, Florida and featured the last inductions to the WCW Hall of Fame. The Class of 95 were Wahoo McDaniel, Angelo Poffo, Terry Funk, Antonio Inoki, Dusty Rhodes, Gordon Solie & Big John Studd

– The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) defeat Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– The Great Muta defeats Paul Orndorff to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title
– Arn Anderson defeats Alex Wright to retain the WCW Television Title
– Sting defeats Big Bubba Rogers in a Lights Out Match
– Hulk Hogan & Randy Savage defeat Ric Flair & Vader

In 2000, WWF Judgment Day was held in Louisville, Kentucky

– Eddie Guerrero defeats Perry Saturn & Dean Malenko in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWF European Title
– Shane McMahon defeats The Big Show in a Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Chris Benoit defeats Chris Jericho in a Submission Match to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– D-Generation X (Road Dogg & X-Pac) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) in a Double Tables Match
– Triple H defeats The Rock in an Iron Man Match with Shawn Michaels as special guest referee to win the WWF Title

In 2006, WWE Judgment Day was a Smackdown-exclusive event. It was held in Phoenix, Arizona

– Paul London & Brian Kendrick defeat MNM (Johnny Nitro & Joey Mercury) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Gregory Helms defeats Super Crazy to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Booker T defeats Bobby Lashley to win the King Of The Ring Tournament
– The Great Khali defeats The Undertaker
– Rey Mysterio defeats JBL to retain the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1971 – Dusty Rhodes defeats Bill Watts to win the TSW North American Title

1982 – Wahoo McDaniel defeats Sgt Slaughter to win the NWA United States Title

1984 – Kevin von Erich defeats Killer Khan by DQ to win the WCCW Television Title. Not satisfied with the result, von Erich vacates the title soon after

1993 – Dan Kroffat ends Masanobu Fuchi’s 3-and-a-half year reign as AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion

2001 – on Raw, Chris Benoit & Chris Jericho defeat The Two Man Power Trip (Steve Austin & Triple H) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles. Also, The Big Show defeats Rhyno to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2009 – Alex Koslov defeats Extreme Tiger & Alan Stone in a 3-Way Match to become the first AAA Cruiserweight Champion


Happy birthday to UK indy star Andy Simmons (28) and one-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion Kota Ibushi (30)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE and WCW ‘Triple Crown’ Champion Chris Benoit (45) and his wife and former valet Nancy ‘Woman’ Benoit (48)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Final Four

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Tony Schiavone be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Final Four

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...