This Day In Wrestling History – May 17th‏

May 17, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1992, the final WCW WrestleWar: War Games was held in Jacksonville, Florida

– The Freebirds (Jimmy Garvin & Michael Hayes) defeat Terry Taylor & Greg Valentine to win the WCW United States Tag Team Titles
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat Tatsumi Fujinami & Takayuki Iizuka
– Brian Pillman defeats Tom Zenk to retain the WCW Light Heavyweight Title
– Sting’s Squadron (Sting, Barry Windham, Dustin Rhodes, Ricky Steamboat & Nikita Koloff) defeat The Dangerous Alliance (Steve Austin, Rick Rude, Arn Anderson, Bobby Eaton & Larry Zbyszko) in a War Games Match

In 1998, WCW Slamboree was held in Worcester, Massachusetts

– Fit Finlay defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WCW Television Title
– Ciclope won a Cruiserweight Battle Royal. He unmasked after the match to reveal he was Dean Malenko in disguise
– Dean Malenko defeats Chris Jericho to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Diamond Dallas Page defeats Raven in a Bowery Death Match
– Goldberg defeats Saturn to retain the WCW United States Title
– Eric Bischoff defeats Vince McMahon by forfeit (Bischoff had challenged McMahon on the previous Nitro. When McMahon unsurprisingly no-showed, Bischoff ordered the referee to start the 10-count and proclaimed himself the winner)
– Randy Savage defeats Bret Hart with Roddy Piper as special guest referee. The following night on Nitro, Piper reversed the decision
– Sting & The Giant defeat The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles

Title Changes

1963 – Bruno Sammartino defeats Buddy Rogers to win the WWWF Title

1965 – Bull Curry defeats Karl Kox to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1986 – Bruiser Brody defeats Rick Rude by DQ to win the WCCW Television Title

1987 – The Lightning Express (Brad Armstrong & Tim Horner) defeat Rick Steiner & Sting to win the UWF Tag Team Titles

1993 – on Raw, Marty Jannetty defeats Shawn Michaels to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2007 – Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) are awarded the newly created TNA Tag Team Titles, having been the previous NWA Tag Team Champions

2010 – on Raw, Bret Hart defeats The Miz in a No-DQ Match to win the WWE United States Title

2011 – Eric Young defeats Gunner to win the TNA Television Title


Happy birthday to NWA legend Jackie Fargo (84), former WCW Television Champion Alex Wright (37), former ECW valet Lori ‘Peaches’ Fullington (45) and former WWE referees Earl & Dave Hebner (63)

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time NWA American and Texas Heavyweight Champion Billy Red Lyons (80)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply