This Day In Wrestling History – May 11th

May 11, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1976 – Seiji Sakaguchi wins the NJPW World League, defeating Pedro Morales in the final

1985 – WWF Saturday Night’s Main Event airs for the first time

1989 – Steve Austin makes his professional wrestling debut


In 1996, AAA TripleMania IV-A was held in Chicago, Illinois, making it the first major AAA event to be held in the US (excepting the When Worlds Collide event, which was co-promoted with WCW)

– Jerry Estrada & Juventud Guerrera defeat El Pantera & Super Calo – Cibernetico, El Picudo & Mosco de la Merced defeat Octagon, Ultimo Dragon & La Parka – Konnan & Perro Aguayo defeat Pierroth Jr & Cien Caras in a Lumberjack Match

In 1997, WWF In Your House 15: A Cold Day In Hell was held in Richmond, Virginia

– Mankind defeats Rocky Maivia – The Nation of Domination (Crush, Vega & Faarooq) defeat Ahmed Johnson in a Gauntlet Match – Ken Shamrock defeats Vader in a No Holds Barred Match – The Undertaker defeats Steve Austin to retain the WWF Title

In 2008, TNA Sacrifice featured a one-night, 8-team ‘Deuces Wild’ Tournament to crown new TNA Tag Team Champions. It was held in Orlando, Florida

– Kaz wins a 10-man X-Division TerrorDome Match – Gail Kim & Roxxi Laveaux win a 10-woman TNA Knockouts Makeover Battle Royal – Gail Kim defeats Roxxi Laveaux in a Ladder Match – The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) in the final of the Deuces Wild Tournament to win the vacant TNA Tag Team Titles – Samoa Joe defeats Scott Steiner & Kaz in a 3-Way Match to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1976 – The Executioners defeat Louis Cerdan & Tony Parisi to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1976 – Karl Kox & Bob Sweetan defeat Ted DiBiase & Dick Murdoch to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1981 – Ernie Ladd defeats Kerry von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

2007 – Mike Quackenbush defeats Tiger Mask IV to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2010 – on Smackdown, LayCool (Layla & Michelle McCool) defeat Beth Phoenix in a Texas Tornado Handicap Match. Layla pins Phoenix to win the WWE Womens Title


Happy birthday to one-time CZW World Champion Nick Berk (32), former WCW and WWE Cruiserweight Champion Billy Kidman (38), former AWA, CWA and USWA Tag Team Champion Paul Diamond (51) and Chickfight VI winner Daizee Haze (29)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply