This Day In Wrestling History – May 3rd‏

May 3, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1975 – Giant Baba wins the revamped AJPW Champion’s Carnival by defeating Gene Kiniski, The Destroyer & Mr Wrestling in a Round Robin League


In 1998, ECW Wrestlepalooza was held in Marietta, Georgia

– Chris Candido & Lance Storm defeat The Hardcore Chair Swingin’ Freaks (Axl Rotten & Balls Mahoney) to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Tommy Dreamer & The Sandman defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von)
– Rob Van Dam fought Sabu to a time-limit draw to retain the ECW Television Title
– Shane Douglas defeats Al Snow to retain the ECW World Title

Title Changes

1973 – Rip Tyler & Eddie Sullivan defeat The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1985 – Ted DiBiase & Steve Williams defeat The Rock N Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1992 – The Steiner Brothers (Scott & Rick) defeat Arn Anderson & Bobby Eaton to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

1993 – Papa Shango defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1995 – Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles. Interestingly, this title change was recorded for WCW WorldWide 18 days before it aired, meaning that the Nasty’s lost the titles before they had officially won them!

1995 – Sabu defeats Koji Kanemoto to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1995 – Keiji Mutoh defeats Shinya Hashimoto to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

1997 – Manabu Nakanishi & Satoshi Kojima defeat Kensuke Sasaki & Riki Choshu to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1998 – Booker T defeats Chris Benoit to win the WCW Television Title

2002 – Crash Holly defeats Steven Richards to win the WWF Hardcore Title, but loses the belt back to Richards later in the night

2006 – Koji Kanemoto defeats Tiger Mask IV to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

2010 – Togi Makabe defeats Shinsuke Nakamura to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title. Also, Blue Justice Army (Wataru Inoue & Yuji Nagata) defeat No Limit (Tetsuya Naito & Yujiro Takahashi) & Bad Intentions (Karl Anderson & Giant Bernard) in a 3-Way Match to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

2010 – Jushin Liger defeats Negro Casas to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title

2011 – on Smackdown, Randy Orton defeats Christian to win the World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to 7-time JAPW Tag Team Champion Monsta Mack (33)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famer Stu Hart (97)

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply