This Day In Wrestling History – April 21th

Apr 21, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1973 – Giant Baba wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Mark Lewin in the final

1993 – This year’s AJPW Champion’s Carnival returned to the single-block format. Stan Hansen defeats Mitsuharu Misawa in the final after both men tied on 20 points

2008 – The King of the Ring tournament is held on Raw. William Regal defeats CM Punk in the final


In 2002, WWF Backlash was held in Kansas City, Missouri. This was the first PPV following the Brand Extension, but remained a dual-brand show

– Tajiri defeats Billy Kidman to win the WWF Cruiserweight Title
– Jazz defeats Trish Stratus to retain the WWF Womens Title
– Eddie Guerrero defeats Rob Van Dam to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Undertaker defeats Steve Austin with Ric Flair as special guest referee
– Billy & Chuck defeat Maven & Al Snow to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Hollywood Hulk Hogan defeats Triple H to win the WWF Undisputed Title

Title Changes

1967 – The Assassins (1 & 2) defeat The Red Raiders (Dick Dunn & Billy Garrett) to win the vacant TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1979 – Mike George defeats Jerry Stubbs to win the TSW Louisiana Title. This would be the final reign before MSWA took control of the title

1980 – Ken Patera defeats Pat Patterson to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1982 – Bruiser Brody defeats Dory Funk Jr to win the NWA International Heavyweight Title

1984 – Ricky Steamboat defeats Dick Slater to win the NWA United States Title

1994 – Ric Flair defeats Ricky Steamboat to win the vacant WCW World Title

2004 – AJ Styles defeats Jeff Jarrett in a Cage Match to win the NWA World Title


Happy birthday to one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Ed ‘Brutus Beefcake’ Leslie (55), 6-time TNA X-Division Champion Jay Lethal (27) and former ECW wrestler Axl Rotten (41)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply