This Day In Wrestling History – April 19th‏

Apr 19, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1997 – The AJPW Champion’s Carnival saw a 3-way tie for 1st place between Toshiaki Kawada, Kenta Kobashi & Mitsuharu Misawa. In a one-night round robin playoff, Kawada was declared the winner


In 1998, WCW Spring Stampede was held in Denver, Colorado

– Booker T defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WCW Television Title
– Chris Jericho defeats Prince Iaukea to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Hollywood Hogan & Kevin Nash defeat Roddy Piper & The Giant in a Baseball Bat on a Pole Match
– Raven defeats Diamond Dallas Page in a Raven’s Rules Match to win the WCW United States Title
– Randy Savage defeats Sting in a No-DQ Match to win the WCW World Title

In 2009, TNA Lockdown was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As with all Lockdown events, all matches were held within a cage

– Suicide defeats Jay Lethal, Consequences Creed, Sheik Abdul Bashir & Kiyoshi in an Xscape Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley) defeat The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) & No Limit (Naito & Yujiro) in a Tornado Tag Match to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Angelina Love defeats Awesome Kong & Taylor Wilde in a 3-Way Match to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) in a Street Fight to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles and win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Jeff Jarrett, Samoa Joe, AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels defeat Kurt Angle, Scott Steiner, Booker T & Kevin Nash in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– Mick Foley defeats Sting to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1957 – Don Leo Jonathan defeats Pepper Gomez to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1980 – Ric Flair defeats Jimmy Snuka to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1987 – Bubba Rogers defeats One Man Gang to win the UWF Heavyweight Title

1999 – on Nitro, Psychosis defeats Rey Misterio Jr to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2002 – on Smackdown, the WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to Goldust, to Raven and back to Bubba Ray

2004 – on Raw, Chris Benoit & Edge defeat Evolution (Ric Flair & Batista) to win the World Tag Team Titles

2010 – on Impact, Rob Van Dam defeats AJ Styles to win the TNA World Title

2011 – on Smackdown, Kane & The Big Show defeat The Corre (Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to NWA legend Ox Baker (78), British indy star Jonny Storm (35), former WSU Champion Nikki Roxx (33), current WWE Diva Maxine (26) and decorated Japanese star El Samurai (46)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply