This Day In Wrestling History – April 15th‏

Apr 15, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1995 – Mitsuharu Misawa wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Akira Taue in the final after both men tied on 17 points

2000 – This year’s AJPW Champion’s Carnival reverted to an elimination tournament format. Kenta Kobashi defeated Takao Omori in the final


In 2007, TNA held it’s annual Lockdown PPV in Saint Charles, Missouri. As with all Lockdown events, all matches were held in a cage. This event is notable for a number of reasons. It was only the second monthly TNA PPV to be held outside of Orlando and holds the TNA PPV attendance record with around 6000. Finally, it was the final TNA event to use NWA Titles (the belts were used at the following event, but were referred to as TNA Titles. At the next event after that, there were new belts too)

– Chris Sabin defeats Jay Lethal, Sonjay Dutt, Alex Shelley & Shark Boy in an Xscape Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Senshi defeats Austin Starr with Bob Backlund as special guest referee
– James Storm defeats Chris Harris in a Blindfold Match
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) in an Electrified Cage Match to win the NWA Tag Team Titles
– Team Angle (Kurt Angle, Samoa Joe, Rhino, Sting & Jeff Jarrett) defeat Team Cage (Christian Cage, AJ Styles, Scott Steiner, Abyss & Tomko) in a Lethal Lockdown Match

Title Changes

1925 – Stanislaus Zbyszko defeats Wayne Munn to win the World Heavyweight Title

1958 – Fritz von Erich defeats Bull Curry to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1977 – Bruiser Brody & Mike York defeat Jose Lothario & Cien Caras to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1985 – Takashi Ishikawa & Akio Sato defeat Animal Hamaguchi & Masanobu Kurisu to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1995 – The Sandman defeats Shane Douglas to win the ECW World Title

2001 – Mitsuharu Misawa defeats Yoshihiro Takayama in the final of a tournament to become the first GHC Heavyweight Champion

2002 – on Raw, the WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to Raven, to Tommy Dreamer, to Steven Richards and back to Bubba Ray

2008 – on Impact, Eric Young & Kaz defeat AJ Styles & Tomko to win the TNA Tag Team Titles. Also, Petey Williams defeats Jay Lethal to win the TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to current TNA X-Division Champion Austin Aries (34)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply