Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – April 14th‏


1973 – The first Japanese wrestling promotion, the JWA, goes out of business having lost it’s two main draws (Antonio Inoki & Giant Baba) who left to form their own promotions

Title Changes

1980 – Toru Tanaka defeats Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1989 – Jerry Lawler defeats Kerry von Erich to win the Unified World Title

1996 – Rayo de Jalisco Jr defeats Apolo Dantes to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title

2002 – The WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to William Regal, to Spike Dudley, to Goldust and back to Bubba Ray. Each counts as a separate reign

2006 – Negro Casas & Mistico defeat Averno & Mephisto to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2008 – on Raw, Mickie James defeats Beth Phoenix to win the WWE Womens Title

2010 – Bison Smith & Keith Walker defeat Takeshi Rikio & Mohammed Yone to win the GHC Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WCW and NWA World Champion Jeff Jarrett (45), former WCW, WWF, ECW and TNA wrestler Julio Dinero (40), 4-time WWF/E Womens Champion Lita (37) and Joshi star Toshie Uematsu (38)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 2-time WCW Tag Team Champion Brian Adams (48)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Would you like to see a Women's Money In The Bank Match?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should WWE have given Cody Rhodes a run as WWE champion?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...