This Day In Wrestling History – April 13th‏

Apr 13, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2011 – Yuji Nagata wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Seiya Sanada in the final


In 1997, ECW held it’s first ever PPV Barely Legal in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

– The Eliminators (Perry Saturn & John Kronus) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Shane Douglas defeats Pitbull #2 to retain the ECW Television Title
– Taz defeats Sabu
– Terry Funk defeats The Sandman & Stevie Richards in a 3-Way Dance
– Terry Funk defeats Raven to win the ECW World Title

In 2008, TNA Lockdown was held in Lowell, Massachusetts. As with all Lockdown events, all matches were held in a cage

– Jay Lethal defeats Johnny Devine, Shark Boy, Sonjay Dutt, Curry Man & Consequences Creed in an Xscape Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– BG James defeats Kip James
– Christian Cage, Kevin Nash, Rhino, Sting & Matt Morgan defeat Tomko, AJ Styles, Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) & James Storm in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– Samoa Joe defeats Kurt Angle in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1931 – Ed ‘Strangler’ Lewis defeats Ed Don George to win the World Heavyweight Title

1977 – Bruiser Brody defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1983 – Ted DiBiase & Mr Olympia defeat Tiger Conway Jr & Mr Wrestling II to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1992 – Lauren Davenport defeats Miss Texas to win the USWA Womens Title

1994 – Diesel defeats Razor Ramon to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1996 – Jesse James Armstrong wins a Battle Royal to become the first USWA Television Champion

2000 – Taz defeats Mike Awesome to win the ECW World Title

2002 – Genichiro Tenryu defeats Keiji Mutoh to win the vacant AJPW Triple Crown Title. Also, Kendo Kashin defeats Masanobu Fuchi to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title and Arashi & Nobutaka Araya defeat Mitsuya Nagai & Sigeo Okumura to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2002 – The WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to William Regal, to Spike Dudley, to Goldust and back to Bubba

2007 – Yuji Nagata defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to indy regular Josh Raymond, better known to some as Josh Abercrombie (28), one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Sir Mo (48) and former ECW wrestler Christian York (35)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famer Antonino Rocca (85), one-time WWWF World Champion Stan Stasiak (75) and 3-time Mexican Light Heavyweight Champion Dr Wagner (78)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply