This Day In Wrestling History – April 5th‏

Apr 5, 2012 - by Steve Gerweck


2008 – TNA debuts on Fox8 in Australia


In 1992, WWF Wrestlemania VIII was held in Indianapolis, Indiana. The event was only the second to feature a non-title main event

– The Undertaker defeats Jake Roberts
– Bret Hart defeats Roddy Piper to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Randy Savage defeats Ric Flair to win the WWF Title
– The Natural Disasters (Earthquake & Typhoon) defeat Money Inc (Ted DiBiase & Irwin R Schyster) by countout (Money Inc retain the WWF Tag Team Titles)
– Hulk Hogan defeats Sid Justice by DQ

In 2009, WWE Wrestlemania XXV was held in Houston, Texas

– In a dark match, The Colons (Carlito & Primo) defeat John Morrison & The Miz in a Lumberjack Match to unify the WWE Tag Team Titles and the World Tag Team Titles
– CM Punk wins his second Money In The Bank Ladder Match
– Santina Marella becomes Miss Wrestlemania by winning a 25-Diva Battle Royal
– Chris Jericho defeats Roddy Piper, Jimmy Snuka & Ricky Steamboat in a Handicap Elimination Match
– Matt Hardy defeats Jeff Hardy in an Extreme Rules Match
– Rey Mysterio defeats JBL to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– The Undertaker defeats Shawn Michaels
– John Cena defeats Edge & The Big Show in a Triple Threat Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Triple H defeats Randy Orton to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1968 – Spoiler #1 defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title. However, the title is immediately held up as Gary Hart had interfered in the match

1978 – Ernie Ladd & The Assassin defeat Ray Candy & Steven Little Bear to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1996 – Jerry Lawler defeats Bill Dundee to win the vacant USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

2002 – Yuji Nagata defeats Tadao Yasuda to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

2010 – Ted DiBiase awards the Million Dollar Championship to his son, Ted DiBiase Jr

2010 – Matt Morgan injures Hernandez, forcing LAX to vacate the TNA Tag Team Titles. Morgan proclaims himself sole champion

2010 – I had to give this one it’s own entry because it’s just so complicated! Angelina Love, Velvet Sky, Daffney & Tara win a Lockbox Match to each win a key to one of four boxes. Tara won back her pet spider, Sky won a contract to face any opponent with any stipulation at any time, Love won the TNA Knockouts Title and Daffney was forced to strip to her bra and panties (though for some reason, Lacey von Erich did it instead)


Happy birthday to former WWF Tag Team Champion Sika Anoa’i (67) and former WCW Champion Diamond Dallas Page (56)

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply