This Day In Wrestling History – April 3rd‏

Apr 3, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 2005, WWE Wrestlemania 21 was held in Los Angeles, California

– Edge wins the first ever Money In The Bank Ladder Match
– Trish Stratus defeats Christy Hemme to retain the WWE Womens Title
– Kurt Angle defeats Shawn Michaels in what was to be the Match Of The Year
– Akebono defeats The Big Show in a Sumo Match
– John Cena defeats JBL to win the WWE Title
– Batista defeats Triple H to win the World Heavyweight Title

In 2010, ROH The Big Bang was held in Charlotte, North Carolina

– Necro Butcher defeats Erick Stevens in a Butcher’s Rules Match
– The Kings Of Wrestling (Chris Hero & Claudio Castagnoli) defeat The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) to win the ROH Tag Team Titles
– Tyler Black defeats Roderick Strong & Austin Aries in a Triple Threat Elimination Match to retain the ROH World Title
– Blue Demon Jr & Magno defeat Super Parka & Misterioso

In 2011, Wrestlemania XXVII was held in Atlanta, Georgia. This was the first Mania to see both main champions retain their titles

– In a dark match, Sheamus fought Daniel Bryan to a no-contest in a Lumberjack Match to retain the WWE United States Title
– Edge defeats Alberto Del Rio to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Michael Cole defeats Jerry Lawler by DQ with Steve Austin as special guest referee
– The Undertaker defeats Triple H in a No Holds Barred Match
– Nicole ‘Snooki’ Polizzi, Trish Stratus & John Morrison defeat Dolph Ziggler & LayCool (Layla & Michelle McCool)
– The Miz defeats John Cena to retain the WWE Title. Originally, the match was a draw by double counout, but guest host The Rock ordered that the match be restarted under No-DQ Rules. The Rock took out Cena and Miz scored the pinfall to win

Title Changes

1908 – Frank Gotch defeats Georg Hackenschmidt to win the World Heavyweight Title

1965 – Red McKim defeats Treacherous Phillips to win the vacant TSW Missouri Junior Heavyweight Title

1983 – Dick Slater defeats Roddy Piper to win the NWA Television Title

1983 – Tiger Mask is forced to vacate the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title after suffering an injury

1993 – Don Muraco defeats The Sandman to win the NWA-ECW Title. Also, The Suicide Blondes (Chris Candido, Johnny Hotbody & Chris Michaels) defeat Tony Stetson & Larry Winters to win the ECW Tag Team Titles. They are allowed to defend the titles under the Freebird Rule

1995 – on Raw, Alundra Blayze defeats Bull Nakano to win the WWF Womens Title

1995 – Razor Ramon defeats Bill Dundee to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

2000 – on Raw, Eddie Guerrero defeats Chris Jericho to win the WWF European Title. Also, Crash Holly defeats Hardcore Holly to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2001 – on Smackdown, Triple H defeats Chris Jericho to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2006 – on Raw, The Spirit Squad (represented by Mikey & Kenny) defeat The Big Show & Kane to win the World Tag Team Titles. The group chose to defend the belts under the Freebird Rule

2009 – Jerry Lynn defeats Nigel McGuinness to win the ROH World Title


Happy birthday to one-time AJPW All Asia Champion Tiger Jeet Singh (64) and 3-time WCW United States Champion Lance Storm (43)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply