This Day In Wrestling History – March 30th‏

Mar 30, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – La Parka Jr wins the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament, defeating Latin Lover, Abismo Negro & Heavy Metal

2007 – Keiji Mutoh wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Toshiaki Kawada in the final


In 1996, the WWF Slammy Awards Show was held in Anaheim,California

– Sunny wins Best Buns
– Shawn Michaels wins Best Slammin’ Jammin’ Entrance
– Bret Hart’s Sharpshooter wins Best Finisher
– Vader’s attack on Gorilla Monsoon wins Crime of the Century
– Ahmed Johnson wins the ‘New Sensation’ award
– Jerry Lawler wins Biggest Mouth
– Sunny wins Manager of the Year
– Freddie Blassie wins the Lifetime Achievement Award
– Shawn Michaels & Razor Ramon’s Ladder Match from Summerslam 95 wins the US West Match of the Year Award

In 2003, WWE Wrestlemania XIX was the first Wrestlemania to be held under the WWE banner and was also the first to be held after the Brand Extension. It took place in Seattle, Washington

– On Heat, Lance Storm & Chief Morley defeat Kane & Rob Van Dam to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Matt Hardy defeats Rey Mysterio to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Trish Stratus defeats Victoria & Jazz in a Triple Threat Match to win the WWE Womens Title
– Team Angle (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin) defeat Chris Benoit & Rhyno and Los Guerreros (Eddie & Chavo) in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Triple H defeats Booker T to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Hulk Hogan defeats Vince McMahon in a Street Fight
– The Rock defeats Steve Austin
– Brock Lesnar defeats Kurt Angle to win the WWE Title

In 2008, WWE Wrestlemania XXIV was the first Mania to be held outdoors since Wrestlemania IX. For you tech-heads out there, it was also the first WWE event to be released on Blu-Ray. It was held in Orlando, Florida

– CM Punk wins the Money In The Bank Ladder Match
– Kane defeats Chavo Guerrero to win the ECW Title
– Shawn Michaels defeats Ric Flair, forcing Flair to retire
– Randy Orton defeats Triple H & John Cena in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Title
– Floyd Mayweather defeats The Big Show by Knockout in a No-DQ Match
– The Undertaker defeats Edge to win the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1981 – Junkyard Dog & Dick Murdoch defeat Ernie Ladd & Leroy Brown to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1981 – Bob Sweetan defeats Mike George to win the TSW Tri-State Title

1986 – The Fantastics (Tommy Rogers & Bobby Fulton) defeat The Sheepherders (Luke Williams & Butch Miller) to win the UWF Tag Team Titles

1998 – on Raw, The New Age Outlaws (Billy Gunn & Road Dogg) defeat Cactus Jack & Chainsaw Charlie in a Cage Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Heat, Shane McMahon retires the WWF European Title

1999 – on Raw, Kane & X-Pac defeat Jeff Jarrett & Owen Hart to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2000 – Billy Kidman defeats The Artist to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2003 – Michael Modest defeats Yoshinobu Kanemaru to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title

2007 – The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) defeat Naruki Doi & Shingo to win the ROH Tag Team Titles

2010 – on Smackdown, Jack Swagger cashes in his Money In The Bank and defeats Chris Jericho to win the World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to WWE wrestler Trent Barretta (25), former WWF Tag Team Champion Mike ‘IRS’ Rotunda (54), former WWE star Zach Gowen (29) and one-time NWA World Champion Ron Garvin (67)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF and JCP wrestler SD Jones (67)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply