This Day In Wrestling History – March 21st‏

Mar 21, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – The final WCW Thunder airs on TBS

2004 – Jeff Jarrett defeats Latin Lover to win the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament. This result was stricken from the AAA records when they and TNA ended their working relationship, though was reinstated when the companies resumed their relationship in 2010

2007 – Yuji Nagata wins the New Japan Cup, defeating Togi Makabe in the tournament final

2011 – Jimmy Snuka is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 79% of the reader votes


In 1991, the first WCW/New Japan Supershow (known as ‘Starrcade 1991 in Tokyo Dome’ in Japan) was held in Tokyo, Japan. I believe I’m right in saying that this was the first show of its kind, cross-promoting an American and a Japanese promotion. It didn’t air in America until April

– Jushin Liger defeats Akira Nogami to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeat Hiroshi Hase & Kensuke Sasaki to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– The Great Muta defeats Sting
– Tatsumi Fujinami defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title. Flair retained the WCW Title, as New Japan considered them separate entities, despite WCW considering them the same championship at the time

In 1997, the WWF Slammy Awards Show was held in Chicago, Illinois

– Rocky Maivia wins the New Sensation Award
– Shawn Michaels vs Bret Hart from Wrestlemania XII wins Match of the Year
– The Undertaker wins Best Entrance Music
– Shawn Michaels’ Sweet Chin Music wins Best Finisher
– Goldust & Marlena win Best Couple
– Steve Austin wins the Freedom of Speech Award
– The Undertaker wins Superstar of the Year
– Arnold Skaaland wins the Lifetime Achievement Award
– Sable is Miss Slammy

In 1999, ECW Living Dangerously was held in Asbury Park, New Jersey

– Rob Van Dam defeats Jerry Lynn to retain the ECW Television Title
– New Jack defeats Mustafa
– Spike Dudley & Nova defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von). Nova was injured during the match and was replaced by Sid Vicious
– Tommy Dreamer & Shane Douglas defeat The Impact Players (Lance Storm & Justin Credible)
– Taz defeats Sabu to unify the FTW Title and the ECW World Title

In 2010, TNA Destination X was held in Orlando, Florida

– Kazarian defeats Daniels, Amazing Red & Brian Kendrick in a 4-Way Ladder Match
– Tara defeats Daffney to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Rob Terry defeats Magnus to retain the TNA Global Title
– The Band (Scott Hall & Syxx-Pac) defeat Eric Young & Kevin Nash to win TNA contracts
– Doug Williams defeats Shannon Moore to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Matt Morgan & Hernandez defeat Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– AJ Styles fought Abyss to a no contest when Styles was chokeslammed through the ring. Styles retains the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1972 – The Continental Warriors (Bobby Hart & Lorenzo Parente) defeat Tom Jones & Billy Red Lyons to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1984 – Harley Race defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

2010 – Ryota Hama defeats Satoshi Kojima to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2011 – Daisuke Sekimoto & Yuji Okabayashi defeat Manabu Soya & Seiya Sanada to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2011 – Extreme Tiger & Jack Evans defeat Los Maniacos (Silver King & Ultimo Gladiator) to win the AAA Tag Team Titles


Today would have been the birthday of former ECW and WWF Tag Team Champion Chris Candido (40)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply