This Day In Wrestling History – March 19th‏

Mar 19, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1995, WCW Uncensored was held in Tupelo, Mississippi

– The Blacktop Bully defeats Dustin Rhodes in a King of the Road Match. Both men were fired for blading during the match, violating WCW’s no-blood policy
– Johnny B Badd defeats Arn Anderson by KO in a Boxer vs Wrestler Match
– Randy Savage defeats Avalanche by DQ after Ric Flair (posing as a fan) attacked Savage. Despite the finish, the match had been advertised as a no-DQ contest
– The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) defeat Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) in a Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Hulk Hogan defeats Vader in a Strap Match

In 2000, the final WCW Uncensored was held in Miami, Florida

– The Artist defeats Psicosis to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Brian Knobbs defeats 3 Count (Shane Helms, Shannon Moore & Evan Karagias) to win the WCW Hardcore Title. Knobbs pinned each member of 3 Count separately
– The Harris Brothers (Ron & Don) defeat The Mamalukes (Big Vito & Johnny the Bull) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Sting defeats The Total Package in a Lumberjacks With Casts Match
– Sid Vicious defeats Jeff Jarrett to retain the WCW World Title
– Hulk Hogan defeats Ric Flair in a Yappapi Indian Strap Match

Title Changes

1956 – Don Evans defeats Bull Curry to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1974 – The Texan defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1978 – Mr Wrestling defeats Blackjack Mulligan to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1989 – George Takano & Super Strong Machine defeat Masa Saito & Riki Choshu to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

2001 – on Raw, Edge & Christian claim that The Dudley Boyz have not arrived at the arena and steal their title shot, defeating The Hardy Boyz. However, immediately after the match, The Dudley Boyz received their title shot and beat Edge & Christian to win the WWF Tag Team Titles. Also, Raven defeats The Big Show to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2002 – on Smackdown, William Regal defeats Diamond Dallas Page to win the WWF European Title

2010 – La Legion Extranjera (Taiji Ishimori & Takeshi Morishima) defeat La Hermandad 187 (Joe Lider & Nicho El Millionario) to win the AAA Tag Team Titles

2011 – Eddie Edwards defeats Roderick Strong to win the ROH World Title


Happy birthday to one-time WWE Tag Team ChampionEvan Bourne/Matt Sydal (29), current WWE Diva AJ Lee (25), one-time CMLL Heavyweight Champion Brazo de Plata, also known for his WWE run as Super Porky (49) and former WWE referee Jimmy Korderas (50)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 4-time USWA Tag Team Champion Lanny ‘Moondog Cujo’ Kean (52)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply