This Day In Wrestling History – February 22nd

Feb 22, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2000 – on Smackdown, Crash Holly introduces the 24/7 Rule on the WWF Hardcore Title shortly after winning it from Test


In 1998, WCW SuperBrawl VIII was held in San Francisco, California. Louie Spicolli was supposed to compete on the show, but died a week earlier

– Booker T defeats Rick Martel to retain the WCW Television Title – Booker T defeats Saturn to retain the WCW Television Title – Chris Jericho defeats Juventud Guerrera in a Title vs Mask Match to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title and force Juventud to unmask – Diamond Dallas Page defeats Chris Benoit to retain the WCW United States Title – The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) defeat The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles after Scott turned on Rick to join the nWo – Sting defeats Hollywood Hogan to win the vacant WCW World Title

Title Changes

1971 – Fritz von Erich defeats Toru Tanaka to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1978 – The Great Kojika & Motoshi Okuma defeat Animal Hamaguchi & Mighty Inoue to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1978 – Ray Candy & Steven Little Bear defeat The Brute & Dr X to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1983 – Dick Slater defeats Mike Rotundo to win the NWA Television Title

1984 – Jumbo Tsuruta defeats Nick Bockwinkel to win the AWA World Title

2004 – Kaz Hayashi defeats Blue-K to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2010 – on Raw, Maryse defeats Gail Kim in the final of a tournament to win the vacant WWE Divas Title


Happy birthday to former WCW wrestler Super Calo (41)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply