This Day In Wrestling History – January 14th‏

Jan 14, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 2001, the first and only WCW Sin was held in Indianapolis, Indiana. Sid Vicious badly broke his leg at this event, causing his retirement from professional wrestling

– Chavo Guerrero Jr defeats Shane Helms to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Ernest Miller defeats Mike Sanders to become the WCW Commissioner
– Meng defeats Terry Funk & Crowbar in a Triple Threat Match to win the WCW Hardcore Title
– The Natural Born Thrillers (Sean O’Haire & Chuck Palumbo) defeat The Insiders (Kevin Nash & Diamond Dallas Page) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles
– Shane Douglas defeats General Rection in a First Blood Chain Match to win the WCW United States Title
– Totally Buff (Lex Luger & Buff Bagwell) defeat Goldberg & Dwayne Bruce forcing Goldberg to retire from professional wrestling
– Scott Steiner defeats Jeff Jarrett, Sid Vicious & Animal in a Four Corners Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2003, Raw’s 10th Anniversary Show features a number of awards

– Trish Stratus wins Diva of the Decade
– Kurt Angle wins the Don’t Try This At Home Award for his moonsault off the top of the cage
– Mick Foley wins the Tell Me I Didn’t Just See That Award for the 3 Faces of Foley
– The Rock wins the Gimme The Mic Award
– Triple H & Stephanie win the Best On-Screen Couple Award
– Mae Young giving birth to a hand wins the Network Difficulties Award
– Steve Austin wins the Raw Superstar of the Decade Award
– TLC 2002 wins Raw’s Greatest Match Award
– Steve Austin giving The Corporation a beer bath wins the Best Raw Moment Award

In 2007, TNA Final Resolution was held in Orlando, Florida

– Rhino defeats AJ Styles in a Last Man Standing Match
– Chris Sabin defeats Christopher Daniels & Jerry Lynn in a 3-Way Match to win the TNA X-Division Title
– The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) defeat Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) by DQ to retain the NWA Tag Team Titles
– Kurt Angle defeats Samoa Joe in a 30-Minute Iron Man Match
– Christian Cage defeats Abyss & Sting in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the NWA World Title

Title Changes

1966 – Lorenzo Parente defeats Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1983 – The Great Kabuki defeats Bugsy McGraw to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1991 – Arn Anderson defeats The Z-Man to win the NWA Television Title

1992 – Big Josh & Ron Simmons defeat The Young Pistols to win the WCW United States Tag Team Titles

2000 – Tony Kozina defeats Vince Kaplack to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2001 – Taiyo Kea & Johnny Smith defeat Masanobu Fuchi & Toshiaki Kawada to win the vacant AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer ‘Hacksaw’ Jim Duggan (58), former WCW and WWE wrestler Ernest ‘The Cat’ Miller (48), former WWF/E personality Shane McMahon (42), former WWE wrestler Gene Snitsky (42) and 5-time AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion Masanobu Fuchi (58)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply