This Day In Wrestling History – January 3rd

Jan 3, 2012 - by Steve Gerweck

Title Changes

1977 – Bruiser Brody defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1983 – The Great Kabuki defeats Al Madril to win the WCCW Television Title

1986 – The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts) defeat Kerry von Erich, Kevin von Erich & Brian Adias to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1987 – Masanobu Fuchi defeats Kuniaki Kobayashi to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2000 – on Raw, Triple H defeats The Big Show to win the WWF Title. Also, Chris Jericho & Chyna’s WWF Intercontinental Title match ended in a double pinfall. At the time, they were announced as co-champions, but current WWE Title Histories consider the title vacated

2000 – on Nitro, David Flair & Crowbar win a tournament to win the vacant WCW Tag Team Titles

2008 – Joe Doering & Keiji Mutoh defeat Satoshi Kojima & Taru to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2009 – Minoru Suzuki & Nosawa Rongai defeat Osamu Nishimura & Masanobu Fuchi in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2010 – Masakatsu Funaki & Keiji Mutoh defeat Taiyo Kea & Minoru Suzuki to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to hardcore stars Vic Grimes and New Jack (both 49) and WWE Hall of Famer Jim Ross (60)

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply