This Day In Wrestling History – January 1st‏

Jan 1, 2012 - by Jamie Cruickshank

Happy New Year everyone!

Title Changes

1946 – Larry Tillman defeats Marshall Esteppe to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1975 – Harley Race is awarded the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title, thus becoming the first man to hold the title known today as the WWE United States Title

1978 – Blackjack Mulligan defeats Ricky Steamboat to win the NWA Mid-Atlatic United States Title

1982 – Tiger Mask defeats Dynamite Kid to win the vacant WWF Junior Heavyweight Title

1986 – Dick Slater defeats Butch Reed to win the MSW North American Title. Also, Jake Roberts defeats Dick Slater in the final of a tournament to win the vacant MSW Television Title


Happy birthday to one-time WWF Hardcore Champion Rodney (41), current TNA World Champion Bobby Roode (35), UK indy regular Roy ‘The Zebra Kid’ Bevis (30), former WCW valet Kimberly Page (42), one-time WWF and NWA Womens Champion Leilani Kai (52), 2-time CMLL World Heavyweight Champion Rayo de Jalisco Jr (52) and legendary manager ‘The Mouth of the South’ Jimmy Hart (68)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply