This Day In Wrestling History – December 17th‏

Dec 17, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1987, the WWF Slammy Awards Show was held in Atlantic City, New Jersey. This was the second Slammy Award show and would be the last until 1996

– George Steele wins Best Performance by an Animal
– Miss Elizabeth wins Woman of the Year
– Harley Race wins Best Ring Apparel
– Rick Rude wins the Jesse ‘The Body’ Award
– Jim Duggan wins Greatest Hit and Best Vocal Performance
– One Man Gang wins Best Group
– Billy Graham was presented with the Hulk Hogan Real American Award

In 1995, WWF In Your House 5: Season’s Beatings was held in Hershey, Pennsylvania

– Hunter Hearst Helmsley defeats Henry Godwinn in an Arkansas Hog Pen Match with Hillbilly Jim as special guest referee
– Owen Hart defeats Diesel by DQ
– The Undertaker defeats King Mabel in a Casket Match
– Bret Hart defeats The British Bulldog to retain the WWF Title

In 2000, the final WCW Starrcade was held in Washington DC

– Terry Funk defeats Crowbar to win the WCW Hardcore Title
– Mike Awesome defeats Bam Bam Bigelow in an Ambulance Match
– General Rection defeats Shane Douglas by DQ to retain the WCW United States Title
– The Insiders (Kevin Nash & Diamond Dallas Page) defeat The Perfect Event (Chuck Palumbo & Shawn Stasiak) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles
– Goldberg defeats Lex Luger in a No Holds Barred Match
– Scott Steiner defeats Sid Vicious to retain the WCW World Title

In 2006, WWE Armageddon was held in Richmond, Virginia. Despite being billed as Smackdown-exclusive, some Raw superstars did appear

– Kane defeats MVP in an Inferno Match
– Paul London & Brian Kenrick defeat William Regal & Dave Taylor, MNM (Joey Mercury & Johnny Nitro) & The Hardys (Matt & Jeff) in a Ladder Match to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles. This match is infamous for the brutal facial injury suffered by Mercury
– Chris Benoit defeats Chavo Guerrero to retain the WWE United States Title
– Gregory Helms defeats Jimmy Wang Yang to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– The Undertaker defeats Mr Kennedy in a Last Ride Match
– Batista & John Cena defeat Finlay & King Booker

Title Changes

1968 – Fritz von Erich & Dan Miller defeat The Spoiler & Gary Hart to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1970 – Kim III & Pak Song defeat Rufus R Rones & Gorgeous George Jr to win the vacant Texas Tag Team Titles

1978 – Bull Ramos & Tiger Conway Jr defeat Mark Lewin & Karl Krupp (subbing for The White Knight) to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1979 – Bob Backlund defeats Bobby Duncum in a Texas Death Match to win the vacant WWF Title

1999 – Masato Tanaka defeats Mike Awesome to win the ECW World Title

1999 – Team Extreme (Kit Carson & Khris Germany) defeat Murder Inc (Kevin Northcutt & Jimmy James) to win the NWA Tag Team Titles

2005 – Austin Aries & Roderick Strong defeat Sal Rinauro & Tony Mamaluke to win the ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time World Tag Team Champion Nick ‘Eugene’ Dinsmore (36) and one-time AJPW All-Asia Tag Champion NOSAWA (35)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply