Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – December 6th‏


1996 – Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League defeating Jun Akiyama & Mitsuharu Misawa in the ‘final’ after both teams finished on 17 points

1998 – Satoshi Kojima & Keiji Mutoh win the NJPW Super Grade Tag League, defeating Tatsumi Fujinami & Shinya Hashimoto in the final

2002 – Taiyo Kea & Satoshi Kojima win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League to win the vacant AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2009 – Keiji Mutoh & Masakatsu Funaki win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League, defeating Suwama & Masayuki Kono in the ‘final’ after both teams tied on 11 points


In 1998, WWF Capital Carnage was a UK only PPV, held in London, England

– The Headbangers (Mosh & Thrasher) defeat The Legion of Doom (Droz & Animal)
– Sable & Christian defeat Jacqueline & Marc Mero
– Ken Shamrock defeats Steve Blackman to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Triple H defeats Jeff Jarrett
– The New Age Outlaws (Billy Gunn & Road Dogg) defeat D’Lo Brown & Mark Henry to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– The Rock defeats X-Pac by DQ to retain the WWF Title
– Steve Austin defeats Mankind, Kane & The Undertaker in a Fatal Four Way Match with Gerald Brisco as special guest referee

Title Changes

1971 – Karl Gotch & Rene Goulet defeat Luke Graham & Tarzan Tyler to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1979 – Antonio Inoki vacates the WWF Title after his match with Bob Backlund goes to a no-contest

1989 – Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League to win the vacant AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1991 – The Miracle Violence Connection (Terry Gordy & Steve Williams) win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League to win the vacant AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1997 – Chris Candido & Lance Storm defeat Doug Furnas & Phil LaFon to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

1999 – Jushin Liger defeats Psychosis (subbing for the injured Juventud Guerrera) to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

2004 – Lita defeats Trish Stratus to win the WWE Womens Title

2008 – El Mesias defeats El Zorro in a Ladder Match to win the vacant AAA Heavyweight Title

2009 – Takashi Sugiura defeats Go Shiozaki to win the GHC Heavyweight Title. Also, Takeshi Rikio & Mohammed Yone defeat Kensuke Sasaki & Takeshi Morishima to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2010 – Santino Marella & Vladimir Kozlov defeat Mark Henry & Yoshi Tatsu, The Nexus (Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel) & The Usos (Jimmy & Jey) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer Nick Bockwinkel (77)

In Memoriam

On this day in 2003, the wrestling world lost former WCW and TNA wrestler Jerry ‘Malice/The Wall’ Tuite aged just 35. Tuite was with WCW from 1999 until it closed in 2001, and though his contract was taken on by WWF, he didn’t stay for long. He then joined TNA as ‘Malice’ and was a solid upper carder, though again, did not stay for long, preferring to wrestle in Japan. It was in Japan that he was found dead. He had succumbed to a heart attack of unknown causes, though he was known to have had drug problems early in his career, so that was probably a factor

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. Michael says:

    I’ll never forget Lita’s championship win. Greatest mainstream womens match period.

Leave a Reply



2014 GERWECK.NET Year End Awards: TV Show of the year

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Alberto Del Rio sign with TNA?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should "Mean" Gene Okerlund be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...